Anyone using satelite to access the internet abroad?

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Encantador, Dec 8, 2013.

  1. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, I know they are expensive and you can do a lot with wi-fi and dongles etc.

    But would be interested to hear the ins and outs from someone who has used a satellite system to access the internet, especially abroad and fairly recently.

    Thanks
     
  2. John & Joan

    John & Joan Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,231
    Likes Received:
    660
    Location:
    Full Time on the road
    This subject also interests me. Have you looked at Briskona Telecom briskona.com

    They claim their system works in UK and Europe.

     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2013
  3. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    I`ll let you know after next Wednesday (18th).. :thumb:

    If it`s no good, there will be a full system being put up for sale... :Sad::BigGrin:

    PS........... It works fine in this country, and it`s fast...
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2013
  4. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans

    Don't forget my offer, to remove it for you free of all charges, VeryOldMoIceCreamMan. :Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    hi , i built my own sat internet system onto my oyster dish. i use the astra 2 connect set up from beyondsl in the uk. the internet comes from astra 3 at 23.5 and has worked all over europe so far except the very south of spain i.e the costa del sol and the algarve in portugal. i am in mojacar,spain at the moment and its working fine but 20 mile south of here it just drops off. worked in granada but not in malaga, so there seems to be a line just outside the footprint in southern spain but everywhere else is fine. hope this helps sean

    p.s old mo , what sytem are you using? which satellite? if you use astra 3 and are heading to zahora then i think you will struggle to get a signal . pm if you like
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2013
    • Like Like x 4
  6. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks, Had not seen that one, I was wondering why at home they can throw in all the kit for a reasonable monthly fee but to put `similar` kit on a MH costs £3500.

    And why would it cost so much more than fitting a TV Sat system?

    I also vaguely remember reading somewhere that someone just added a second LNB to his TV Sat dish on his MH and got it to work. Can`t remember where I read it though. ((Well that answers that question then, must have been typing at the same time :BigGrin:))
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  7. ShiftZZ

    ShiftZZ Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    19,821
    Likes Received:
    35,897
    Location:
    Leicestershire

    Do uou have a dummies guide as to how?

    I mean really simple...
     
  8. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    hi encantador, i bought the hardware secondhand for €100 and made the bracket for the second internet lnb myself for €20. been using it for 3 years now no probs. also with my system i can watch tv from astra 2 and get internet at the same time from astra 3. the oyster made system for £4500 will only let you do one or the other not both.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    Hi mate... it was a system that had been put on by "Conrad Anderson" by the previous owner.

    I have a contract with Satellite International.... I notice on their footprint guide, I will be struggling down in Zahora...

    Personally I think it`s an expensive luxury, and what with cheap`ish dongles and WiFi hotspots etc I would not have had one put on..

    And being thick and knowing nothing about them, I have to go running to some one who does if and when it goes wrong.. :Sad:

    I believe this is the footprint we are on... and as you say doubtful if I will get it in Zahora or bottom end of Portugal,,,, which is where we are going...:Sad:

    Thank goodness for dongles and site wifi... :BigGrin:

     

    Attached Files:

  10. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    ok , i'll do my best.
    first i took off the tv lnb from the oyster dish
    then made an adjustable bracket shown in the photo.
    put internet lnb where tv lnb was
    put tv lnb in position on bracket shown in photo
    manually line the dish to point at the internet sat (astra 3 23.5)so that the internet is working.
    connect a sat meter to the tv lnb and adjust to get the best signal.
    when done tighten it all up.
    now the clever bit . because your tv lnb is off centre ,when your dish searches for astra 2 it will find it on a reflection not directly so when it locks on, your dish will be pointing at your internet satellite by default. best part is that you can convert any dish to internet dish once you have the bracket made.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  11. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
     
  12. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    [/COLOR][/SIZE][/QUOTE

    you appear to have the astra 3 footprint, let me know when you get to zahora if it works. it will be good to know for future reference , safe trip sean[/QUOTE]

    Will do, Sean... :thumb:

    Watch this space... :Wink::BigGrin:
     
  13. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    5,292
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    If Old Mo wants internet or tele. off his sat. dish at Zahora then he needs to pack his chainsaw and he needs his dongle filling up.

    It is possible off some pitches but we have already parked on them (bribery may work)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    A pint or my body for a nice clear to the sky pitch...:RollEyes:

    I know what lady "P" would take... :Wink::BigGrin:
     
  15. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    5,292
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    If that is your final offer----then make sure you have a working dongle :Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks, very interesting. So the main cost is the internet LNB, can you remember how much and where you purchased it from? Is there another box inside you need?

    You then just sign up for one of the internet packages I assume?

    Thanks again, very useful.
     
  17. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    hi , you need the ilnb and the modem and however many metres of shotgun coax to get from your dish to your modem . then phone up beyondsl and sign up. you can get the entire hardware package from them for £299 .
     
  18. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the replies.

    This option has become more interesting the more I read about the changes coming to satellite footprints over the next few months.

    Some sites are suggesting we could lose most of the UK channels part way through France.

    So, although more expensive, but controlled costs with a unlimited data package, would a Internet LNB added to a standard Sat dish as described here, together with a Slingbox be a way round the TV problem further south?

    Thanks
     
  19. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    hi encantador , it could be an answer if your pockets are deep enough! internet via satellite is still quite expensive although slowly coming down in price.
     
  20. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    briskona.com is quoting £35pm which seems to ba about half of what the others are for the same package.
     
Loading...

Share This Page