Anyone still using the europa sim?

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Glandwr, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. Glandwr

    Glandwr Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    the Berwyn Mountains
    Hi I am lucky enough to have a europa sim that still works. Finally so peed off by the throttling I am suffering on the 3 feel at home that I have been using that instead of putting more credit on 3 I put the eurosim in. Speed by comparison is flying. Trouble is I can't remember how much a day it costs and what the daily allowance is inside and outside of Italy.

    Be very gratefulif you know, many thanks Dick
     
  2. Red Dragon

    Red Dragon Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Location:
    Isle Of Man
    Hi if you go on MotorhomeWifi site they should still have the details on there website HTH's
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    We are also lucky to have a Europasim still working.
    It's €3 per day for 500mb of data and if you're on the Smart Passport deal which I think is the default you also can put the sim in an unlocked phone and get 25 minutes of free calls to UK or wherever.

    If I remember Italy is €2 for 500mb but you have to alter the setting AND remember to restart the Smart Passport when you leave.

    We are going to try the 3 Feel at home this time but like you I find the slow speeds really annoying. We are at the bottom of the pecking order of whoever is 3's partner...............Europasim is direct with Vodafone and very fast speeds
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I've still got one but I've only used it occasionally as Three is so much cheaper if used every day. At my usage rate the Europe sim would cost about four times a month compared to Three, for which speed varies in my experience but I've found it adequate.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  5. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    i still have 1 you have to change the apn for italy and its 500mg but if u go over in italy its charge for unlie anywhere the sleep just slows down
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,210
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I have a europasim (somewhere) but don't use it as 3 is cheaper. The slow speed has never bothered me. Just need it for email and looking at the news and forums.
     
  7. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    EuropaSIM's will remain active unless you don't topup within 12 months (I would to topup at 11 months to be sure). We used ours recently on a trip through Germany/Slovenia and it worked well for us.

    I'm not sure if you purchased from us or directly from EuropaSIM @Glandwr but if you want to send me an e-mail via our website I'll send you our 4 page English instruction leaflet.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Cotswolds
    Thanks Addie that's useful to know, because they charge a "delivery fee" when you top up I usually opt for the full 50 euro topup and that lasts us a good while. I can't remember when I last did it so I will make such I topup in March whether I need to or not, but maybe a lower amount.

    Our EuropaSim worked well on our recent trip to the Aachen Christmas Market. The stop before and after the tunnel was at Gravelines where they offer 3 hours a day free WiFi.
     
  9. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    You can topup using PayPal only via the Vodafone site here for no charge and topup as little as 5 euro here: https://ricarica.vodafone.it (this was linked to on our topup portal)

    The process is made easier if you use Google Chrome on a laptop since the page is locally translated into English.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. SomeoneElse

    SomeoneElse Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    375
    Location:
    Cotswolds
    Thanks for that, URL saved.
     
  11. Glandwr

    Glandwr Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1,692
    Location:
    the Berwyn Mountains
    Thanks Addie, bought from you and still have your leaflet.

    Dick
     
  12. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,569
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    It looks like my Europasim has expired. I did use it earlier this year but haven't topped it up for over a year. I have found Three the most useful but in a couple of places there was no signal the Three card could use but the Vodaphone card did work.
     
Loading...

Share This Page