Anyone having problems with 3 network today?

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by 1_man_and_his_dob(lo), Aug 3, 2012.

  1. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    1,525
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    Just about to head off...need broadband connection for work...connects to network but cannot find any website, including My3 homepage.

    Anyone using 3 OK at this moment?
     
  2. icantremember

    icantremember Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5,457
    Likes Received:
    7,555
    Location:
    Nr Watton in Norfolk
    Yep....... Joyce is on 3 with her Samsung Galaxy and that is all working fine:thumb:
     
  3. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,349
    Likes Received:
    34,950
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I've used 3 for voice OK this morning. Just tried accessing BBC News on 3 WAP and it was fine. 3 home page displays OK on this machine (using landline broadband connection).
     
  4. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    1,525
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    OK....so either there's something wrong with my dongle or the network around here :Sad:

    Tried it on Windows 7 netbook and Mac.....I can see bytes uploading but nothing coming down.

    I might have to head off in the van and just hope it's a local thing....


    ---- UPDATE 10:53am --------

    It's started working :wooo:

    Pushed the SIM into the dongle a few times to clean the contacts....maybe that did it.

    Anyway....I'm out of here before it breaks again!
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. alan

    alan Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    491
    Location:
    skegness / spain
    No Wifi on 3

    I had the same trouble yesterday evening,couldn't get through to my account and struggling to get on to web pages ,:cry:but then Julia got straight through on her phone. :BigGrin:
    I blame the holiday makers clogging up the network:Wink:, But I seem to be getting through OK this morning they're probably still in bed:thumb:
     
  6. Bluemooner

    Bluemooner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    1,713
    Location:
    Ribble Valley
    I had trouble today in Newquay but working fine in St Ives
     
  7. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    1,525
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    Well....maybe I spoke too soon!

    Started acting up again just before I left....so I thought I'd drive for a while and try again...

    Still not right....old expired SIM works OK, but new one on-and-off. More worringly my account says I have zero credit even though it's supposed to be 3 months/3GB.

    Seems to be working at the moment....but I might have to top-up one of these SIMs before the end of the day. Maybe I've been sold a dud (actually bought 2 from Amazon...left one at home :Doh:).
     
  8. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Funnily enough, I was in a 3 shop today trying to get my head round the mifi thingy, overheard the manager who was talking to another customer blaming the olympics for whatever her problem was.

    He said something like "all networks have had problems since the start of the olympics because of people searching for tickets etc...."
     
  9. StitchUp

    StitchUp Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    953
    Location:
    Bridgend, South Wales
    3 mobile broadband dropping out all day today.
     
  10. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    1,361
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Same here on three, keeps dropping out all day today and yesterday
     
  11. 1_man_and_his_dob(lo)

    1_man_and_his_dob(lo) Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,271
    Likes Received:
    1,525
    Location:
    Mid. Glamorgan, S. Wales
    They mentioned on the news today that they were getting loads of ticket applications, and that people "needed to be patient", which I guess is another way of saying "our systems can't cope!" :Smile:

    Meanwhile....my dongle now seems to be working....I can see my 3GB allowance on My3. So I'll put today's difficulties down to a stressed 3G network + a stressed Neil switching his SIM cards around too much :Blush:
     
  12. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,778
    Likes Received:
    7,876
    Location:
    Flintshire
    I'm pleased to hear this, I couldn't connect at all this morning, thought I might be in a dead spot although I was receiving last night. The strange thing was I was getting three green bars or at least amber bars but no connection. Just come back to site after touring around Torbay and everything is o.k now:thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
Loading...

Share This Page