Rally Chat Anyone Got A 110 Inverter

Discussion in 'Rally Planning Discussion and Chat' started by newlifedriver, May 15, 2015.

  1. newlifedriver

    newlifedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    in my rv
    As any one got a 110 inverter they can sell me at Newbury show
     
  2. jockaneezer

    jockaneezer Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    3,068
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Do you mean an inverter or a transformer, couldn't see you running much off a 110 inverter ?
     
  3. newlifedriver

    newlifedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    in my rv
    Inverter as the TV is 110 so have to run the gen if kids won't to play xbox
     
  4. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,578
    Likes Received:
    11,557
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Might be simpler to buy a new TV! :)
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Are you sure it's a 110v American TV ?

    When I had an RV the TV was changed to 230v UK standard.. as US TVs don't work in the UK ...

    USA standard is NTSC which runs at 60hz and the UK standard is PAL which runs at 50hz.

    unless there is such a thing as dual standard TV.
     
  6. newlifedriver

    newlifedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    in my rv
    Only no its got a 3 pin plug but is running on 110 at the min and did not won't to risk trying the 240 on it as it's a good size so would not be cheep to replace the TV in the bed room is the same but I can get to the back of that one and see it has 110 on the back the rv spent a lot of time in Spain so tvs may be from there
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Spainish TV broadcast uses the PAL standard, same as most of Europe..

    So how do you normal watch TV.. by running the Genny ?

    Do you never plug into an EHU ? was the RV converted for use in the UK on 230v ?

    if so , the 230v to 110v step down transformer will feed the Fridge, Microwave , battery charger.. and any other 110v kit..

    but as I said.. the TV's must have been replaced..

    if unsure, maybe better have someone look at it and explain how it's been converted..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. newlifedriver

    newlifedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    in my rv
    Yes we have110 and 240v from any of the 2 gen sets or sites when we are on them we all so have 500w solar so was just going to run an inverter from battery bank
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    sorry.. can't help any more without actually seeing how it's been converted..

    but the TVs must have been changed to PAL if they work in Europe..
    best way to check what voltage it is, is to pull it out, and check the data label on the back..
     
  10. newlifedriver

    newlifedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    in my rv
    Thanks scotjimland for the info I'm picking up a new solar inverter charger on Monday so may have to make do till then no bad thing peace and quiet
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,554
    Likes Received:
    11,099
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Can you watch TV on it? Or do you just use it for the games?

    You may find that the socket hasn't been converted, but the voltage has changed

    Either meter the voltage at the socket, or as Jim said look at the spec plate on the back of the TV

    When RV's are converted the "ring main" is normally pulled out of the 110 VAC distribution board, added to the new 220 VAC distribution board, and the outlets are changed to 13amp ones or blanked off/disconnected

    At the rear of a TV cabinet perhaps access or space was restricted on the 110VAC socket wasn't changed. Not a good move in my opinion if that is the case given as it leads to issues like this.

    Eddie
     
  12. newlifedriver

    newlifedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    in my rv
    Thanks Eddie for the reply TV and gaming on both tvs
     
  13. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,554
    Likes Received:
    11,099
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Then I'd pretty much guess that they will work on 220VAC definitely I would check properly before buying anything
     
  14. newlifedriver

    newlifedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    in my rv
    Just got it off and it's 220-240 so don't no why last owner thort it was 110 thanks for the feedback everyone with out it I would have just gone with what I was told
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page