Any microwave oven boffins out there (1 Viewer)

whoa

Free Member
May 2, 2008
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
It's been sold, no more
Exp
I'm a newbie
Quite frankly I think ours is knackered, it is or was a Panasonic 800 watts, anyway this morning hoping to have some lovely porridge, when the wife says feel the casing it is really hot, and believe me it was very hot, took porridge out after 7 mins porridge was lukewarm normally it's cooked. What's the likely cause for it doing this, it will of course be going to the tip for recycling, need another one soon.

BwB

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 3, 2011
Suffolk UK
Funster No
MH
Resting b'twix vans
Exp
Since 1990
Unplug it and leave it unused for a week. It may need drying out - moisture can make it's way into the electrics (especially if you've been doing a lot porridge/rice/boiling water/etc) Always leave the door open for an hour or so after cooking in it.

If you still get the same problem after the week of drying out then time to get a new machine.

Unlikely to be leaking microwaves unless the case/door is damaged. If the door is damaged then dump the whole oven in the bin and treat yourself to a new one.

At least they're not too pricey these days :)

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Deleted User
Could be power supply, fan or a number of things. I remember the days when we would replace the magnetrons in a microwave oven and they used to cost approx. £150. They are so cheap now that they are worth repairing.

OP
OP
whoa

whoa

Free Member
May 2, 2008
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
It's been sold, no more
Exp
I'm a newbie
Thanks for your thoughts on this one, after much thinking we. Decided to buy a new one, I have to say it was quite a lot concerning the way the casing got very hot, and nothing happening to the food. Oh porridge again wahay(y)

Apr 12, 2010
Bury St Edmunds, West Suffolk
Funster No
MH
Weinsberg Cara
Exp
since 2007