Anti Virus

Discussion in 'Computers' started by poppys, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. poppys

    poppys Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Im not far off being computer illiterate; recently I had my computer cleaned up by a recommended local chap who told me that it had quite a few issues ie trojan ,worm etc that he had dealt with. I run AVG and Spy-bot both free versions that he said should be enough, but obviously not .So can anyone please recommend what to use.
     
  2. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,518
    Likes Received:
    12,743
    Location:
    Norfolk
    AVG should be OK provided it is updated frequently as this does not always happen automatically.
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  4. Brisey

    Brisey Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    6,449
    Likes Received:
    7,072
    Location:
    Tropical Bar,Benidorm.
  5. Maurice & Val

    Maurice & Val Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hornsea, East Yorkshire
    Try Microsoft Security Essentials. Does a good job and is free (provided you've got a legal version of your operating system of course).
     
  6. jezport

    jezport Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    I beleive that you cant get something for nothing. So I use Norton internet security and have not had any problems over the few years I have used it. It only costs about £10 to £12 on Ebay and if you buy an older version you can update it fo free here http://updatecenter.norton.com/?NUCLANG=en
     
  7. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    I have always run McAfee on our computers have it running on 4 diferent machines, have used now for at least 6 years never had a problem.

    Dave :thumb::thumb:
     
  8. Lampie

    Lampie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Derby
    Changed mine from Norton as it slowed machine down to much, use Kaspersky now very pleased with it

    Lampie
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Agreed, Norton is resource hungry and gets everywhere on your machine .. bugger to get rid of.
    If you haven't already done so, to erase completely, download the free removal tool from Norton .
     
  10. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,518
    Likes Received:
    12,743
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I run Kaspersky iiiiiitttttt doooeeeesssssnnnnttt sssslllloooowwww iiiitttttt ddoooooowwwwwnnnn ttttooooo mmmmmuuuuuccccchhhh :Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  11. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Likes Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    On the laptop, I am running AVG Security Suite, and thought that I was covered. Someone more knowledgeable than I, put me onto http://www.malwarebytes.org/ which Jim linked above. Scanning with that now, it appears that I have 4 infected files...........so far. :Eeek:

    I too have been put onto MS Security Essentials, which is now on the new PC, as is malwarebytes.

    It's a job to know, which is the best.

    Cheers,

    Jock.
     
  12. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    Do so agree JockandRita I think is a case of if you find one that works over a period of time stay with it.


    Dave :thumb::thumb:
     
  13. jezport

    jezport Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    I run Norton on a 3 year old machine and it still runs fast enough
     
  14. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    I ran Commodo and a couple of spyware/malware programmes. All free downloads from the web.

    They didnt stop my desktop from becoming infected to the pont where I put a hammer through it and chucked it in the bin.

    I bought a lappy to replace the desktop and now run McAfee. It costs but I feel much safer with it.

    A lot of the stuff thats free on the web doesn't have Anti Virus software in there. Its just a malware blocker and some of it can mess with your registry keys which can also be a bad thing.

    Jim
    :Smile:
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Billy23
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    491

Share This Page