Another driving advice question

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Wizbangs, Jun 15, 2013.

1. Wizbangs

Wizbangs

I'm a competent driver in a car with 70,000 miles a year not unusual. However I am struggling in the MH with pulling out into the middle lane on motorways. I seem to get stuck behind slow traffic, with other vehicles streaming by and no space for me to pull out to overtake. This also really worries me with large slow vehicles coming on from slip roads, if I have nowhere to go. :Eeek: I try to see how the lorries do it, but hey, who is going to argue with a lorry.

Mary

2. callumwa

callumwa Read Only Funster

If there is a good safe gap, pull out and overtake.

If not, just ease the pedal, go with the flow, even if it's a slow flow, chill and think of where you want to take the next pit stop...

It's just Fun, so no hurry, relax and enjoy...............:thumb::thumb:

:BigGrin:

• Like Like x 6
  3. vwalan

vwalan Funster

pay and have a day with a hgv instructor in your vehicle .
    i think every m,homer should go on a driving course .
    its not quite like driving a car .
    look local there will be one close by .

• Like Like x 7
  4. camocam1

camocam1 Read Only Funster

I also do large milage in the car and have no problem on motorways but also find it difficult in the MH but do find that it is a different mind set in a MH so take your time and get wherever you are going safely

• Like Like x 1
  5. Larrynwin

Larrynwin Funster

You need to plan further ahead, don't wait until you close on the vehicle ahead, look for the gap and move out well in advance.
    I drive an RV which is not as quick off the mark as a eurovan and rarely have a problem :thumb:

• Like Like x 5
  6. PaulyP

PaulyP Funster

Anticipation is the main thing. I am in cruise and dont want to come of cruise.
    So i have to be watching ahead and behind, making my move to overtake well in advance. Try not to get hemmed in, depends on how heavy the traffic is.