Android 5.0 Lollypop

Discussion in 'Computers' started by John Laidler, Nov 19, 2014.

  1. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    My Nexus 7 tablet has just been upgraded to the latest 5.0 Android flavour. No problems noticed so far but it does seem a little slower. This might be my imagination but it could also need more processing power. Visually it looks a bit different but not strikingly so. The little buttons along the bottom of the screen are different and it seems to turn off with a single click, so to speak. No need for the confirmation the older system wanted.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  2. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Have you spotted the gotchas yet ?

    Apart from speed which is almost inevitable - look for things to turn off.

    They've not rolled it out just to please you.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  3. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,936
    Likes Received:
    30,761
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Mines the earlier model with the frozen Jubbly. :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Seems to start with a little advert now, a bit like the old windows tip of the day. First one was pushing Google backup and the next "gift ideas from Google play"

    Unsurprisingly, no obvious way to turn them off!
     
  5. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I'm not sure what the policy is for upgrades. As mine is a Google device I expected the upgrade to arrive sooner later although I wasn't certain my device would be compatible.

    If you have a device from Samsung or whoever do Samsung have to pay for the upgrade? I may yet be surprised but I'm not expecting it to arrive on my wife's Hudle any time soon. Tesco will want her to buy a new one!
     
  6. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I now realise what I thought was an advert was a link to the latest email although only in Gmail, which I don't use so as much use as a chocolate teapot.
     
  7. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I moan about Apple's attitude but let's face it, they are all out to screw as much out of us as possible.

    Time to be looking up root Android 5.

    Which produced ......
    The numerous issues unearthed while rooting Android 5.0 have been attributed to the enhanced security features built into Google's new software with tweaked implementation of SELinux.

    I can't help but think "grooming". Google have been giving us sweets for a long time now, when will we hear "this won't hurt...."
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    No problems so far although apparently there have been problems reported by others on the Nexus 7.

    What I have discovered, and it is proving useful, is if I select to edit a post here the caret has a little blue blob below it and if I touch this with my finger I can move it about anywhere on the page, just like it had a mouse. This makes it easier to put the caret exactly where needed for the edit.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I spoke too soon with the above. Although the update seemed to be without problems I soon found my Nexus 7 responding so slowly it almost became unusable. Evenutally I found a description of a method which promised to sort things out, which involves wiping the cache. I've just followed tis procedure and the first impressions are the thing is now running as it should.

    This problem mostly seems to affect 2012 models, later models have had a 5.01 update released. Why Google couldn't sort this out themselves I can't understand.

    If anyone has this problem the procedure to follow, which sounds a bit fiddly but wasn't is as follows:
    • Turn off your device.
    • Press and hold Power and volume down buttons simultaneously until you see a large arrow at the top of your screen.
    • Press the volume down button repeatedly until you see “Recovery” in the arrow.
    • Select it by pressing the power button.
    • You’ll see an android mascot with a red triangle and exclamation mark.
    • Hold down the power and press the volume up button once and then release the power button.
    • Press the volume down button repeatedly to select “erase or wipe the cache partition” from the list of options.
    • Wait for the process to complete and then restart your device*
    *I did this by selecting power down from the menu and then starting normally. There was also an option to reboot the device on the menu which probably would directly start it but I felt it safer to turn it off first.

    And yes, in the title of this thread you can see I can't spell Lollipop!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    456
    Location:
    Bucks
    I had similar issues with my Nexus 5, Gmail especially kept freezing when accessed, once apps were loaded they ran fine but the start times and switching apps was slow.

    Received the 5.0.1 upgrade and it now appears much better.

    Thanks for the procedure, one to file away.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    The latest instalment is clearing the cache only worked for a while, then the thing started to slow up again. So I downloaded CCleaner for Android and this could be used to see what the problem might be - which I think is the device has insufficient RAM. My Nexus 7 only has 1 GB of RAM and the latest ones have 2GB. CCleaner was telling me I was sometimes using 75% of the available RAM with the thing just sitting idle in my hand. Using the app I was able to stop processes that weren't needed and reduce this to around 50% usage of RAM at which point the device worked well - but it would soon start to slow up again and sometimes crashed.

    Now the device has downloaded and is installing Android 5.0.2. This claims to have addressed stability and performance issues. We shall see.

    To be continued...
     
  12. campa cola

    campa cola Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,801
    Likes Received:
    5,646
    Location:
    Weegeland
    Still waiting for my 5.1 upgrade from Samsung.......
     
  13. Hymie

    Hymie Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    674
    Location:
    Essex
    Downloading it now on a Galaxy Mega, only has 1gb of RAM, we'll see what happens.

    Hymie.
     
  14. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    HA ! Only 1GB.

    I can recall the earth shattering time when I started selling business computers with 640k of RAM. For years we had to get by on 32k. Later on I upgraded 32k control systems to PC based 640k and the only difference was a more user friendly screen, progress !

    32,000 to 640,000 to 1,000,000,000.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    I have the mega. I'll be interested in the update.Hymie
    p's. I have 8gb of ram.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Are you sure ?
     
  17. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Yep. Here's a screen shot. Unless it's ??? And I'll bow to your superior knowledge.
    oops. Now I realise. Is the speed isn't it not the actual space?
    2015_02_14_11.43.03.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    34,393
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Obviously a late starter in IT with machines that massive :Eeek:
     
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,414
    Likes Received:
    25,063
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Well my first taste of microprocessing was 1K of ROM and 256 byes of RAM and a Motorola 6800. All code hand assembled on paper. I binned this only recently with a lump in my throat.

    Now I regularly use the ATmega chips, size of my thumb with 8K RAM and 128K ROM and without windows bloat it's amazing what can be done with them. One runs our MH and uses only a quarter of the ROM. Our door bell, for 2 doors, has a 16 bit processor, runs over a year on batteries. A 16 bit processor for a doorbell ? Well a ready to use board, size of a 50p piece is under a fiver, so why not. All now programmed in plain C.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,536
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I think if your tablet has only 1GB of RAM don't install the 5.0 upgrade. My early Nexus 7 is working now but it is slow to boot and after it has gone to sleep it freezes for a minute or two before it will connect with the web and also insists on relogging on to the wifi, which it never did before. The new OS probably runs fine on a Nexus with 2GB - but it would be interesting to hear from someone who has such a device and can say how they are getting on with 5.0.
     
Loading...

Share This Page