american Winnguard TV Ariels?

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by Dodgey, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Gone RVing
    Rumor is there, er not very good?

    Why? Solutions, other than replace/drill another hole in the roof?

    Si.
     
  2. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    They are as near pufic as you can get if powered up correctly, some have mast head failure and folk think its a crappy arial, when working there 100% including Digital:thumb:
    Geo
     
  3. zaskar

    zaskar Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    UK
    Really?:Smile: We had a 12volt booster fitted to both of our RV's. It was the only way you could get a watchable ( I wouldn't say decent) picture?
    As it happens, we've gone down the sat' route. Haven't watched the "big 5" for years now.:Smile:
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi .. never used it myself preferring sat tv ..

    but it can be used as mast for a sat dish .. :Cool:

    it's the same mechanism as used by Camos for their crank up..
     
  5. zaskar

    zaskar Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    UK
    Really!!!!!:Cool: You do surprise me!:BigGrin::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  6. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    credit where it's due matey .. it was you who first tried it .. if you had told me a couple of years back I could have saved £350 .. :Laughing::Laughing:
     
  7. madbluemad

    madbluemad

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,341
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    spain
    I coudnt get anything that was watchable on mine. Ive ditched it and fitted a cranky. I used the same hole that was there for the winegaurd.

    Jim
    :Smile:
     
  8. peaps

    peaps Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    SWINDON
    never had any problems with mine as Geo says once set brilliant on analogue or digital.

    Pete
     
  9. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,546
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    As Tony Santara will confirm if he sees this post despite being powered the aerial was as good as a piece of damp string, mast head Failure was diagnosed, (A Guess)
    New head and BINGO 100 + free view Chanel's :thumb:
     
  10. ehuplad

    ehuplad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    never had a problem with it digital or anolgue most of the time i do not even have to move it we get a good signal with it layed on the roof.
     
  11. Tony Santara

    Tony Santara Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Cheshire (ex Mancunian)
    Yep I can confirm what Geo says...... couldn't get tap all on mine untill I changed the head, now got a picture to be proud of. :thumb:
     
  12. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Hi no complaints here either great picture and even digital in some areas after a little adjusting (rotation and elevation):thumb: possibly a silly question but you have switched on the signal boost?

    [​IMG]

    Here is ours working fine in Swanage

    [​IMG]

    Regards Pat
     
  13. Dodgey

    Dodgey Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    227
    Location:
    Gone RVing
    Thanks all, haven't tried it yet, just wanted to get a feel for opinion having picked up on some negative waves :Rofl1: :Eeek:about them.

    ruffingitsmoothly, cheers, that saves me looking in the manual, or missing the obvious.

    The connector looked to be a screw, rather than the usual push on, is it anything fancy or readily available?

    Si.
     
  14. ruffingitsmoothly

    ruffingitsmoothly Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    West of Southampton edge
    Hi Dodgey

    These are readily available as used on a Sky box you can also get adaptors to convert from push on to screw on like this one.

    [​IMG]

    I'm sure that Maplins have them.

    Regards Pat
     
  15. des

    des Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    south staffs
    currently in katwijk, netherlands. bbc reception on winguard rubbish. itv no better. should i scrap it? good news, though, free wifi. why don't we ever get that in uk????

    des
     

Share This Page