American Radio Tuning

Discussion in 'Fifth Wheelers' started by zaskar, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. zaskar

    zaskar Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    UK
    In our Kountrylite, we have a Jensen AWM970 stereo.
    We only seem to be able to tune into odd number digits on the tuner.
    ie. Smooth Radio is 100.4 but we can only get 100.3 or 100.5.
    Is this common to American radios or is there a way I can change my tuner settings?
    I've read the manual inside out and tried Google but so far, nothing.

    Ta
     
  2. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    had the same problem with one in our day van

    I purchased a Jensen in Florida for my day van (Dodge) and had the same problem... I did get round it by adding a little unit that allowed me to change to pick up BBC .. but cannot remember what it was called. Got it from the local car radio shop. If I recall it went between the arial wire and the unit.

    Bob
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  4. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    thats it

    Thats it, but it was a lot cheaper than that.. mind you it was 8 years ago... but it was less than £20 even then.

    Bob
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    inflation and demand Bob.....a lot more american vehicles on our roads now than 8 years ago :thumb:
     
  6. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Don't see how that will help the original poster. If the radio will only tune on odd digits, no amount of fiddling with what comes down the ariel cable will change that. After all the signal is already at the ariel the radio does not tune to it and that's it. There is also a unit sold a lot on ebay that pushes the frequencys off a bit, but again that does not help.

    Enless somebody can expain it to my dim brain of course. :Rofl1::Eeek::Rofl1:

    And if you can, I will buy one for I have the same problem.:restmycase:
     
  7. bigmillie

    bigmillie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Camberley Surrey
    I would contact Jensen direct to get to find out how to change to euro frequencies if you look at the spec sheet it does say selectable us/euro frequencies

    12V DC Power
    - 132 Watts
    - AM/FM Electronic Tuner (US/Euro)

    http://www.jensenheavyduty.com/jensen-am-fm-cd-dvd-usb-wb-wallmount-stereo.html

    Hope this helps :thumb:
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    ALL radio frequencies are present at the aerial......the receiver tunes to the one you want.
    american tuners are designed to find odd numbered frequencies only....for example, 94.5...104.3.
    this gadget appears to convert the even numbered UK frequencies to an odd numbered one for the American receiver.
     
  9. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Thanks Pappa, I know that but how does it do it and by how much does it convert. Sorry, I just smell another gizzmo that will endup back in it's box, in the garage.

    Unless somebody know different, of course.:Rofl1::Doh::Eeek:
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,472
    Likes Received:
    16,935
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    no idea Mike.
    i suspect it grabs the freq and simply juggles it around and transmits it down the caox as the correct one.

    i have no doubt they do as it says on the tin.

    radio's are black magic :Eeek:
     
  11. slobadoberbob

    slobadoberbob Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    1,970
    Location:
    Kent, garden of England
    no idea either - just worked

    I have no idea either, it just worked that is all I know.

    Sue is always saying I have no idea how much costs.. but this sure expensive these days.:Blush:

    Bob
     
  12. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    on the old analog radio days there used to be a small screw that you turned to fine tune the set to the aerial normally this was on top of the radio under a small sticker.

    no doubt new digital tuners wont have such a thing but as they say thats progress.
     
  13. NEV3

    NEV3 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North East Wales
    I've had this problem on three American radios now.
    The first one had a small switch inside the radio that switched between US (ODD) & European (EVEN), problem solved.
    The second one didn't have a switch so I went back to the dealer and they replaced the radio with a European one. (Not fit for purpose etc).
    My current motorhome has a US radio still tuned to "ODD", but bought 2nd hand and can't be bothered to make a fuss as it appears to work 95% of the time.
    Take a look inside your radio, it may well have this "changeover" switch.

    NEV3
     

Share This Page