Amazon Firestick

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Dill, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. Dill

    Dill Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Wakefield
    Does anyone know if the above will work outside the uk, eg France and Spain.

    Regards

    Dill
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I doubt it....that would be far too easy.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    It appears I am wrong......

    It WILL work in the following countries only

    • United States
    • United Kingdom (UK)
    • Germany
    • Austria (Fire TV Stick only)
    • Japan
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    If used in those 5 countries, then the content the firestick will offer will be content licenced to that country.

    If used in another country, like France and Spain, then some content may not be available, unless you use a VPN / Smart DNS service which provides you with an IP Internet address for one of the allowed countries.

    Unless you have it loaded with Kodi ;-)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,443
    Likes Received:
    16,872
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    If the IP address is for the country you are in wont the content be in the local language and programs....or does it simply mask the fact you arent in the UK.
     
  6. ROB1CHELSEA1

    ROB1CHELSEA1 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    Park Lane Bedhampton
    The Firestick will update itself, Whatever you do don't press update when it tells you to, or it will wipe everything off it. I know someone who made this mistake :rolleyes::mad::confused::oops::RollEyes:
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    6,433
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    So, if I plug this into my TV via the hdmi port, do I then need to get another cable to plug it into my USB port on the TV to power it?
     
  8. ROB1CHELSEA1

    ROB1CHELSEA1 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    Park Lane Bedhampton
    Yes, it should come with this lead which plugs into the Firestick.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Stretford
    Does this apply if you have kodi on it
    Thks
     
  10. ROB1CHELSEA1

    ROB1CHELSEA1 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,431
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    Park Lane Bedhampton
    Yes, i lost everything including Kodi(n)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Gorse Hill

    Gorse Hill Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Stretford
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Dill

    Dill Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Wakefield
    Thanks for your replies, will load Kodi onto it.

    Thanks

    Dill
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. bryandh
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    362
  2. gus-lopez
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    625

Share This Page