altering screen resolution?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Terry, Jul 5, 2013.

  1. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi all sounds daft but how do I alter the above.I have done it before many yrs ago but have forgotten how to alter it.:BigGrin: No idea why its altered itself no doubt I have pressed something without knowing so it would be good if someone could tell me in simple/idiot terms how to put it back please.
    terry
     
  2. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    If you are using Windows... and depending which version of Windows, most are similar....

    Pressing Control (Ctrl) at the same time as pressing + or - will increase decrease the size of the image on the screen.

    The actual resolution settings can be changed by going to "Start" - "Control Panel" - "Display" - "Adjust Resolutions".


    Hope this helps.....


    :BigGrin::BigGrin:
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi Callum done it thanks :thumb: now I used to know the size that was kindest to your eyes any ideas what the size was ? :BigGrin: While your at it do you know why my smiles have stopped working ? but if I press shift with a then delte the a the smiles work ?
    terry
     
  4. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    14,024
    Location:
    UK
    From memory I used to go to the desktop and right click.
    You then either click "screen resolution" or "properties" and this brings up the display properties where you can set the resolution plus much more.

    To change the font size in my browser I hold the CTRL key down and use the scroll wheel on my mouse...
     
  5. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    8,266
    Location:
    NW England
    It's also possible that your computer has a video driver/control panel built in which has its own interface for tweaking and twiddling your screen settings. It will appear as a menu option when you right-click in the middle of the screen. If so, finding and changing the 'refresh rate' to the highest available setting supported by the monitor will improve the clarity of your screen display.

    You also should be aware that if your monitor is widescreen format, some resolution settings will distort your display horizontally or vertically.
     
  6. durhamahoy

    durhamahoy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Durham
    Hi
    I do a quick CTRL + mouse wheel scroll up or down if a particular site is hard to view on my web browser. OOPS just realised that has been answered. Apologies

    Cheers
    Steve
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  7. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Right guys I am really stuffed now :Eeek:
    Mebeing the clever dick decided to play :BigGrin: rt clicked and sure enough the menu appeared so I clicked on a setting other than (I think reality) and now everthings black :Eeek: other than a few icons, not even got a blue windows line and x in the top cnr :Eeek: They must be there because I can click where it should be but cannot see it and it shuts the window.A keyboard fix may be the way to go because everything that was white/light is now black and not visible-even had to resort to tablet to post because thebox you type in is black :BigGrin:
    Terry
     
  8. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    can anyone help on this?
    terry
     
  9. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    bump ?
     
  10. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    14,024
    Location:
    UK
    Sounds like you may have changed the "theme" I am in linux at the moment and don't have windows emulation on this system so can't give any more exact advice than.. Try to select a different windows theme/skin.
     
  11. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    :BigGrin: how? Everything is black so cannot see anything written:Wink:
    Terry
     
  12. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Which version of windows are you running?

    Perhaps you can do a system restore in "safe Mode" on boot up....

    :BigGrin:
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
  13. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    xp pro
    terry
     
  14. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    terry
     
  15. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    When you reboot can you see the initial start up,screen before it opens into windows?

    if so try a system restore in safe mode.

    1. Restart your computer, and then press and hold F8 during the initial startup to start your computer in safe mode with a Command prompt.
    2. Use the arrow keys to select the Safe mode with a Command prompt option.
    3. If you are prompted to select an operating system, use the arrow keys to select the appropriate operating system for your computer, and then press ENTER.
    4. Log on as an administrator or with an account that has administrator credentials.
    5. At the command prompt, type %systemroot%\system32\restore\rstrui.exe, and then press ENTER.
    6. Follow the instructions that appear on the screen to restore your computer to a functional state.


    :BigGrin:
     
  16. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    All is back to normal :BigGrin:Paul came and tried reboots and all sortsof stuff then started to click in the black boxes finally got somewhere
    Terry
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. callumwa

    callumwa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,113
    Likes Received:
    4,517
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, sometimes..
    Glad it's back to normal......:thumb::thumb:

    :BigGrin:
     
Loading...

Share This Page