ALDI tv on a laptop

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Adria 5, May 5, 2008.

  1. Adria 5

    Adria 5 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    4
    hi ALDI are doing a kit to watch tv on your laptop for £19.99

    here from thursday 8th may

    ray:Smile:
     
  2. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Ta Ray:thumb:
     
  3. Adria 5

    Adria 5 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    4
    hi john check the spec before you buy plus check the support forum there are numourous problems worth a read john HERE

    ray :Doh:
     
  4. Adria 5

    Adria 5 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    4
    hi just to add got[ called away:Laughing:] the mrs bought from aldi today BUT its not compatible with my old lap top needs a pentium 4 with 500+ ram my only has 256 also after going on the website support forum there seems to issues with software and signal strength so i took it back not worth the hassle :Doh:

    ray worth a try:Smile:
     
  5. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Most of these kits seem to give disappointing results as the signal strength is generally poor unless you cobble up the outside antenna to the laptop which isn't always feasible. Most of them are very cheap kits from the East and you seem to get what you pay for or less :Sad:
    Good idea but try to find a bigger branded name version rather than the ultra cheap generics in this case. Or better still, watch TV on a telly / freeview receiver.

    Laurie
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,968
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    never thought of that. :Doh:

    :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  7. shortcircuit

    shortcircuit Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Absolutely no problem. Plugged in, loaded software and off we went.

    I originally tuned in using aerial provided and found a few channels missing. Plugged into house aerial and tuned them all in. Use with aerials provided although you do have to fiddle about to get best reception.

    It does require to a have a good strong signal but for under £20 can't be bad.

    My main concern is that in a few years time we will all be changing over to digital. My first attempt with this unit was in an area that even my other freeview receiver got nothing. I can see a delay in the changeover from analogue to digital until they get he coverage sorted out
     
  8. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,539
    Likes Received:
    11,672
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Hi, I bought one of these. Supplied ariels are useless as I live in a weak signal area. Nevertheless I put a splitter on my external ariel and I can now get more channels than on my Sony Bravia TV. In my view it's worth the £20 just to use as a tiny freeview box. :BigGrin: I can now watch one program on my TV and record another on my pooter. :thumb:
     
  9. gypsylady

    gypsylady Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Durham
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2008
  10. Wilbury

    Wilbury Deleted User

    Hi ksebruce,
    I bought a Sony Bravia TV a couple of months ago. I have to say that I am a little dissapointed in the picture quality and the reception strength.
    I would not have bought it if I had known.
    Wilbury
     
  11. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Asda have a really tiny Freeview "box" available for under £20 which plugs into a TV SCART socket directly - whole size of the gizmo is about 4 inches x 2 inches x 1 inch. Useful where space is very limited and no need for cables / extra footprint / yet another electronics box etc.Obviously still needs the external aerial connection to work.

    Mind you their own-name brand Freeview box isn't big either - about 10"x6"x1"- and is also cheap - under £15 when I last looked. The laptop TV gizmos, if you can get them to work on your computer, are cute gadgets to play with(specially if you like gadgets as much as many of us seem to!!!) if you are in a strong signal area or have access to a good aerial, but are more or less redundant really, given the massive price drop and small Freeview "boxes" available. At under £20, if you have the spare cash, they won't break the bank if they aren't as successful as you had hoped. :Wink:

    Laurie
     
  12. Thepips

    Thepips Trade Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Hi Laurie,
    Sadly the SCART freeview gizmos have their own mains power supply and a separate lead for the remote control sensor. We tested a few to see if they could be run of the leisure batteries. We didn't find a single one that ran properly, the Sharp just went bang when we plugged it in!:Eeek:
    If you've got an analogue TV then you may as well use a cheap freeview box but again, most are 240v. Of course, you need a tv in the first place!:Rofl1:
    That's the biggest advantage of a laptop, it's self contained and battery powered giving tv and video recording in one small neat package. It's how we did it for over a year and we were very happy with it. Mind you, we were selling them at the time so I really had to use one didn't I?:Rofl1:

    Regards
    Doug
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2008
  13. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    Personally, the laptop option isn't one I would ever advocate as the size of the screen is rather small compared to the TVs we have used in our van - not all that keen on travelling with a 17" Powerbook, so tend to take a much smaller laptop on our travels. Sound on most smaller laptops is also quite tinny unless you use external speakers. But its a personal choice in the end, one that I'm glad we never were "forced" to use.:Eeek: I don't mind watching the odd item on my laptop but using it as a TV constantly would have been quite different.

    The tiny scart "boxes" I saw didn't seem to have large external power supplies, but I suppose these differ from manufacturer to manufacturer and there are constant improvements on the go.

    TVs with inbuilt digital receivers seem the best option in a van to me, if finances can stand it, but little electronic gadgets are always alluring, whether one "needs" them or not!!:Rofl1:

    Laurie
     
Loading...

Share This Page