Aldi SD Satellite kit

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by autoswan, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    I`m thinking of going to see if any are left they`ve been on offer since last Thurs has anyone got one or know if they`re any good ?

    At £29.99 Ross make, includes dish size not shown ? will need tripod ?
    Tuner 220 channels + 100 radio, stores upto 4000 programmes, remote control with zoom function ? option to recieve 1000`s of foreing channels so would expect it to pick up uk from all over eu ? no monthly fees 10m of co-ax cable .

    After last couple of trips west swmbo missed tv when raining as roof fitted mini flying saucer was no use. This is cheap if it does the job and im not keen spending £100`s on a fancy system just for us to watch the c**p they mostly put on the box when we will hopefully be out and about not stuck in the mh when away but it be handy to have when wanted. :thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. paulus the woodgnome

    paulus the woodgnome Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    Nottingham
    brought one the other week used it at chatsworth it worked a treat placed it on motorhome roof with sucker no probs last time i went i couldnt get a picture with my aerial only thing was it was eurovision night well done englebert NOT

    acually mine was a hd one and cost me 60 quid dont know if it was the same one dont think it was if it is i was ripped off
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    fiddly to set up due to small dish size....but you will soon get the hang of it and get faster.

    the receiver will be a low quality one at that price so dont expect too many bells and whistles....EPG may just be 'now and next' format and no daily listings.

    don't expect UK TV all over western Europe...it aint going to happen due to small dish size again.

    northern/central France will/should be OK but it may struggle further south and in the northern reaches of Scotland

    of course, in France/Germany etc you will also receive all the 'local' foreign programming as the specific country sat beam will be aimed at those countries
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,530
    Likes Received:
    5,584
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    I have replied to many of these posts about the cheap little sat kits and never changed my mind yet
    They all seem to work and do what they say on the tin:thumb:

    But unless you have the patience of Jobe and the will to beat it, it will have you cursing.

    These gadgets have beaten many Men many times

    Then along comes a seasoned user and says" let me show you how"

    Eureeka
    You can now set up and be watching Corrie in under 5 mins at worst
    Till you are shown it may take an eternity and many are returned to the likes of Aldi and Maplins, tested and passed OK, then offered as B Grades at reduced cost
    Nothing wrong with the Kit, Just Plain Simple Pilot Error
    Best advise I cn give is get someone to show you how before giving up
    Geo
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    Thanks guys it looks like a cheapy with limited function but if it does the job then great, as time passes and i learn more maybe i will upgrade

    A silly question but can the dish be made more effective by putting a larger bright chrome/foil metalic dish close behind it ?
     
  6. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,503
    Likes Received:
    8,255
    Location:
    NW England
    I've put the £60 Aldi HD version on my conservatory roof and linked the tuner to my PC and am picking up nothing like 300+ channels. It may be a line of sight issue, but it could also be due to the small dish size. Don't expect miracles. Our local B&Q had a similar HD kit knocked down to £40.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,238
    Likes Received:
    34,455
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    If you want a 12v system be careful as Aldi sell two different kits. I think the 12v one was on offer a few weeks ago and the current one may be mains only.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,337
    Likes Received:
    21,682
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Used one of the small dish Aldi specials for several years before I had the autosystem installed, and number one son still uses one to this day

    The biggest problem I have is sorting through the 300 to 400 channels to find the brit ones !! ( and yep, used it with great success right down to Italy )
     
  9. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    Good point. Does the 12v come with a cig lighter plug in type fitting ?
    When using off ehu i would prob use my 300w inverter so will check its wattage + tv.
    Should it be ok to use double plug to plug into one inverter iff items used both come under the 300w max ?
     
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    you can put Joderell bank behind it and it wont make any difference. :Laughing:

    the LNB is set at the correct distance from the dish so it 'see's' the whole of the dish and nothing more.

    and radio waves are not reflected by shiny things any better than dull solid things..... hence sat dish's are generally matt black or white/off white
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if it comes as 12v and 230v then just use the 12v option...even on hookup.

    inverters use more power than they give out due to inefficiency losses.
    around 10% of what the inverter draws from the battery is lost as heat while its being inverted to 230v.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    HAHA i new it was a silly Q. As i pressed submit reply doh ! :Blush:
    Its just that i use a foil backing behind my wireless router which defenitly boosts the signal to my laptop which is away from it by quite some distance. Which is obviously sending not recieving a signal .
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  13. Spacerunner

    Spacerunner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Do you really need satellite TV now that Freeview has been turned up to full power?
     
  14. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    The last couple of times away west there was no signal from either the roof mounted mini flying saucer arial or my indoor digital arial with built in booster absolute zilch ! but i notice more and more people around me all have big nasa type set ups !
    When was it turned up ?
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  15. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    with a 'flying saucer' aerial on the roof its a definite yes. :Wink:
     
  16. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,238
    Likes Received:
    34,455
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    It does have the cig lighter plug. We use that all the time.
     
  17. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,238
    Likes Received:
    34,455
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Not in all areas yet. I think we (Tyne Tees) are last in September.
     
  18. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    I have just set one of these up & got over 300 channels, but not channel 5s. The software seems to be an old version and needs to be searched a lot more than the factory setting.

    You need to search for new transponders to get all the channels, which I did and got all the 5s channels. Do make sure there are no obstructions shielding the satellite, and remember the satellite is lower in the sky the further North you are.

    The dish is now a mesh one (which makes it lighter) which I have never seen from Ross before and is no problem to receive all over the UK.

    The best advice I have seen on this thread is from Geo. Get help and PRACTICE, but before you go anywhere, there's nothing worse than trying in the middle of a camp site with all the so called "experts" watching you. :Blush:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,337
    Likes Received:
    21,682
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Or do a JJ and wait for muggins ( me ! ) to turn up to set it up for you !! LOL !!
     
  20. autoswan

    autoswan Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    653
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Location:
    Swansea
    After all the intresting info from you guys i am going to look into it a bit deeper before commiting to one even though the Aldi`s one is at a cheap price .
    Will look on Amazon, Maplins, Fleabay,Argos, B&Q and anywhere you guys recommend i dont mind spending up to around the £100 mark for a decent starter kit for now. Do you use a satellte direction finder or are they built in ?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. colyboy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    441
  2. colyboy
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    626
  3. Madeinengland
    Replies:
    109
    Views:
    5,483
  4. ****
    Replies:
    29
    Views:
    1,944
  5. wiljoy
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    219

Share This Page