Alden Satellite

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by elamessa, Apr 27, 2011.

  1. elamessa

    elamessa Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    469
    Location:
    Haute Vienne, France
    I have an automatic Alden satellite system in our new to us van but unfortunately it will only pick up Astra 1 (19.2E). Basically it is based on the French TNT system. I phoned Alden France to see if the box cold be reconfigured to receive Astra 2 (28.2E) and Astra 1 the answer was a resounding Non Monsieur you will need another box. Anyone have any idea which box would be compatible with Alden's motorised system?

    Thanks in advance for any replies.
    Steve
     
  2. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
  3. elamessa

    elamessa Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    469
    Location:
    Haute Vienne, France
    Already did that search and am waiting for a reply to email sent to one of them (maybe a funster).
    But I want to know if there is any other search controller that will work with the Alden?

    Steve
     
  4. nomadic

    nomadic Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    174
    Location:
    Shropshire based
  5. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    11,118
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    You need a Libertas box which is a Free To Air (FTA) receiver and a SSC control unit as well

    The cost of the box is £399 including VAT

    Eddie
     
  6. elamessa

    elamessa Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    469
    Location:
    Haute Vienne, France
    I already have a Comag Free To Air receiver and just want to change the SSC control unit.

    If you could give me a cost of that only.
    Thanks
     
  7. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    11,118
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Hi The Libertas SSC box comes as a FTA box and controller or FTA box only. The Libertas is not available as a SSC only.

    It may be possible to configure a SSC half moon controller to your system, we would have to check but the cost of that is the same as the Liberras box any way so nothing would be gained

    Have a good weekend we re-open next Tuesday

    Eddie
     
  8. Blaxsta

    Blaxsta Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coventry
    Did you ever get a solution?

    Hi just got our firts motorhome and its come witht the french setup alden ssc unit (we got the motorhome in France). I was wondering did you ever get a UK version to pick up sky TV etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Blaxsta
     
  9. Thedriver

    Thedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    south essex Benfleet
    Re Alden satalitte.Don't know how old your dish is. If it's got the "half moon controller"it should be pre-programmed with about 4 or 5 satalittes.If it has come from France It will use French sat as it's first choice.Look and see if it has Astra 2 on there,if it has set it to that and see what happens.I had a Alden 85cm dish I put on a Hymer in 1996,had nothing but trouble with it for 4 yrs,so don't spend to much money on getting it working.That is only my opinion based on my experience.
     
  10. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Thread is 2 years old, I think they may have sorted it by now.....:Smile:
     
  11. seanoo

    seanoo Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    normandy
    hi blaxsta , give robert jackson a call , google jacksons satelites . he will do a mod using a second lnb and you can then get all your sky channels from astra 2 . way cheaper than getting a new alden box. its the same mod he uses for the obsolete early oyster visions. cheers sean

    hi encantador , blaxsta has just got a van with the same issue as the o.p
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page