Alde 3000 heating

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by JaG, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. JaG

    JaG Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    504
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Need some advice on our Alde 3000 heating system if anyone else has one.
    It heats the radiators around the van and also the water. It has a 1 and 2 KW heater element and can run off gas as well. The question I have is can I run it without the tap water tank being filled? The radiators run on glycol/water mix.
    The heating controls do not allow for seperate timings. In the instruction book it says you can but it also shows a programmer that has both settings separate, ours does not have this. It seems to be all or nothing. Don't want to try it till we know otherwise we could freeze to death over the New Year. Just wanted to air it out but it is too cold to put water in.
     
  2. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    I have the same model as you. In answer to your question, yes you can run the heating separate from the hot water, even if you have drained the hot water side down. The heating is a separate sealed system. You just put the slide switch up to radiators only and then slide the switch for gas or electric.

    ken
     
  3. JaG

    JaG Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    504
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Controls

    Now there lies the problem I have. The programmer i have does not have the slide switches. It is all digital. I can programme up to 6 times a day, overide and set frost protection. Having said that I have another Control Panel that has 6 switches on it that being:
    Power On - to power up the heating system
    Gas Ignition - to light the gas side
    1KW - Obviously for summer/winter use
    2KW -
    Water only
    Water and Heating
    There is nothing about heating only.
     
  4. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    I'm afraid I am not familar with your control panel. The 3000 model was fitted with the slide type controller so I am guessing that either the original control has been replaced or that you have a different model boiler from what you say. The Alde website has all the instruction manuals for their boilers or possiblly, you have one yourself. Either way, there must be a way to have heating only. Is there a name on your control panel that you can search for online? Keep us posted please.

    ken
     
  5. JaG

    JaG Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    504
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Model

    The heating is an Alde Compact 3000 and is original equipment from new. The programmer is a TP5000-RF.
    I have all the instruction mnuals for both. On the Alde instructions it only shows the Alde controller with sliding switches, which clearly says that 'the heating system may be heated up without the warm water eater being filled with water'.
    I am going to ring Alde to confirm this is still the case when I cannot set 'heating only' on the Controller as you can with the slider switch. I will let you know how I get on.
    Thanks, Graham & Jean
     
  6. JaG

    JaG Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    504
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Their 'Final Answer'

    Got this reply back from Alde so it's going on this afternoon. If it goes pear-shaped we will homebound over the New Year, though they seem confident (well they did make it).

    Hello!
    Yes you can use the heater without the freshwater in the tank.
    It don't look like it is a panel from Alde
    Just switch the power on and the same with gas.
    Regards
    Per Karlsson

    Regards
    Graham & Jean
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2009
  7. JaG

    JaG Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    504
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Up and running

    System up and running on 2kW, though doesn't it take a long time to heat the van? Let's hope all is well. Been on 45 minutes and I can just feel the heat coming from behind the seating. Raised it from 4.5 degrees to 6 degrees. Well, at least it's warmer than the fridge, lol. Roll on The Cotton Arms, Wednesbury for the New Year!
    Thanks Ken
    Regards, Graham & Jean
     
  8. johnnerontheroad

    johnnerontheroad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Durham
    Graham put the gas on as well as the lece if you can, it will heat up more quickly once up to temp turn gas off.
     
  9. JaG

    JaG Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    504
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Thanks

    Thanks for that. I am off out to do it now.
    Regards
    graham
     
  10. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    Forgot to give you that tip myself. Works quicker from start with electric and gas on at the same time. Then once up to temperature you could turn it off gas and just use the electric. And yes it does take a long while to get warm but once there it is great. In the winter we just leave ours on all the time. Glad you are now sorted.

    ken.
     
  11. Beachbum

    Beachbum Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hamburg / Cornwall
    The system I have in my MH is that I can slide the switch for heating and boiling water at the same time or slide it the other way for only heating for my hot blow air heating.:thumb:
     
  12. JaG

    JaG Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    504
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Controller

    Yes, that's the one quoted in the Alde Instruction Manual. Mine is different, and was fitted from new. It has a Danfoss TP5000RF programmer with a separate panel with properly marked switches as I stated earlier. That's why I was dubious, because mine does not have that 'heating only' option. Still all seems sorted now.
     
  13. Tony Bilbe

    Tony Bilbe Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nz
    Re ALDE HEATING SYSTEM IN CARAVAN

    Can anyone out there give me a reason where the Glycol/water mix dissappears to, at any given time for no given reason. Have checked for
    possible leakage but none found.
    Means checking level on a daily basis.
    Your ideas & experience would be appreciated.
    Tony
    NEW ZEALAND.
     
  14. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
    Holy resurrected threads Batman.................................:Eeek:
     
Loading...

Share This Page