Aires lat, longitude

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by LDV400, Aug 2, 2014.

  1. LDV400

    LDV400 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    fife
    Hi all
    When you get to France and open -All the aires, what do you put the Lat,Longitude of the Aire you want to go to into, is it I-pad or phone or something else ( sorry ) not clued up with techy things. Will be gratefull for your help.

    Cheers Sammy.
     
  2. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,518
    Likes Received:
    12,751
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I feed my navigator with lat long, it then gives the option to view location and route map before committing .
     
  3. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Normally sat nav, but if you put in a poi file of aires (available free) then you can just go straight to the aire without having to type in the coordinates.
    If typing them in be very careful not to make an error as you could then be miles or even hundreds of miles out.
     
  4. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    3,328
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    yes your navigator could take you seventy miles the wrong way despite the driver tactfully asking her if she was sure not that this every happened to us
     
  5. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    2,015
    Location:
    leicester
    Need to be carefull you put them in the same units can be degrees and minutes, degrees seconds and minutes ,decimal degrees etc!!! It makes a big difference where you end up always best to check it makes sense with where you expect to end up

    David
     
  6. LDV400

    LDV400 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    fife
    :)Hi thanks for reply,s so far, We have an older version of Pro-nav europe just does not wan,t to do gps it does say it some where. Is there a better way of getting from A to B using All the Aires, This will be our first venture into France and don,t want to get lost.

    Thanks again Sammy
     
  7. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
  8. Gizmouk

    Gizmouk Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    1,721
    Location:
    Essex
    I just give the long/lat details to the wife.
    She knows at any given time where we are, where we're going, the best route (always different to the Sat Nav), what speed we're doing (and what we should be doing), and what vehicles we need to "mind".

    :roflmto::roflmto::roflmto:
     
Loading...

Share This Page