aircon recomendations?

Discussion in 'Heating and Air-Conditioning' started by tommytli, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. tommytli

    tommytli Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    lancashire
    after my recent trip to italy im wanting aircon, any recommendations? do they run on 12v aswell as 240? are they quiet?
     
  2. W18BLA

    W18BLA Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    West Midlands
    I have the Dometic 2600 with 12v addon it is good abit noisey on cooling but when its at its optimum temp it sits there nice and steady, But the one we have is climate control, And then there is the cost £3k fitted alot of dollar..:cry:


    Craig
     
  3. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    hi
    i have just got a dometic 2100 from olearys £450 new but old model
     
  4. tommytli

    tommytli Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    lancashire
    do you have a link?
     
  5. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
  6. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    dont go for the smaller ones that he has
     
  7. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    you will nead a 3 kw inverter to run this you can pick them up for £175
     
  8. lunarman

    lunarman Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    872
    Location:
    South Glos
    And how many batteries will you need to power it :Eeek:
     
  9. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    i have only just set mine up on inverter today not tested it but it will use a lot of amps i think about 85 im sure some one will give you the answer it is a 900 watt air con 1200 watt heater
    i will only use mine on inverter while travelling as and when needed 1 have 4 115amp batteries 300watt solar panels not that they will do much
     
  10. tommytli

    tommytli Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    lancashire
    so am i right in thinking unless you have a good electric supply you cant have the aircon running at night while sleeping?
    and if thats the case while i was in italy and needed it the most and the 3 and 6 amp supply would have not been enough to run it?
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Yes and no..

    The smallest Dometic has a cooling capacity of 1kw , uses 2.1A , this will run on a 3A supply but MAY trip the ehu breaker on start up .. so if you really want one it's worth the risk.. provided you can reset the breaker without having to wake the site commandant ..


    Cooling capacity (kW) 1.0
    Full Load, cooling (A) 2.1
    Capacity (BTU/h) 3400
    Power (V/Hz) 230 / 50
    Refrigerant R407c
    Dimensions (L x W x H) (mm) 980 x 650 x 235
    Dimensions (roof opening) (mm) 400 x 400
    Net weight (kg) 29
    Circuit (A /sec) 11/0.15
    Consumption, cooling mode (W) 500
    Consumption, heating mode (W) 800
    Fan speed (kW) 2.0
    Fuse (A) 3
    Roof thickness (mm) 25-45

    http://dometic.com/enie/International/Site/Caravan/AirConditioners-Ventilators/product/?productdataid=66587
     
  12. tonywolst

    tonywolst Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Shropshire
    I have one but cant remeber the exact model number Think Its a dometic B1500, Cost me £300 and i fitted it myself(dead easy), Only triped out the ehu once when I put the kettle on at the same time by mistake, Im only 6m long and it worked perfectly, the noise never botherd me as I couldent sleep with the heat, I rekon its the best thing i ever did:thumb:
     
  13. motor roamin

    motor roamin Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Leicester
    Jim I might be talking out of the wrong hole :Rofl1: I am a mechanic not a sparky, but couldnt start up be softened so as not to have such a surge on start up.

    All the best Rick
     
  14. 1948

    1948 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    surrey
    can you tell me where I can buy one Thanks
     
  15. jezport

    jezport Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    We have an aircon unit fitted in our double floor, its a Truma model, it is very quiet unlike the roof units I have heard. We fun it on fan only on a 500w inverter while traveling.
     
  16. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,991
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    All Dometic units are have "soft start" relays. If fitted by a DMC (Dometic Motorhome Centre) you will get a three year parts and labour warranty and many (we do) will offer free fitting over the winter period

    Hope this helps

    Eddie
     
  17. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    didn't know that Eddie... thanks for that ..

    do you have any technical details.. ?

    jim
     
  18. dennismartin

    dennismartin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    hull
    3kw inverter off ebay runs all electrics great
     
  19. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,991
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Hi Jim

    No not really, the thing is that Dometics marine division is huge and has a range of devices to stop problems with generator and shorepower conection. So other than telling us that they're soft start we don't get told that much

    We use a soft start relay kit designed for halogen lights (patio heater type) to elliminate the problem of tripping the site when connecting RV's up usually caused by the transformers.

    So we assumed that Dometic crossed a bit of technology over from their Marine devision

    Cheers

    Eddie
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    be aware , you will need a big battery bank to use a 3kw inverter

    3kw from a battery at 12v will pull 250amps .... how long will 100ah battery last ?

    about 12 mins..

    also, leisure batteries are not designed for heavy loads ... to use this size inverter at full load you would need a bank of traction batteries.. and a trailer to carry them

    by all means use an inverter but do the maths before buying ..
     
Loading...

Share This Page