Aircon or turbo-vent

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Patrick, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. Patrick

    Patrick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I am thinking of taking out my roof aircon unit and replacing it with a turbo-vent.
    Need to know:

    1 is the hole from an eletorlux A/C the same size as turbo-vent?

    2 how much work is there in doing this?
     
  2. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    Hi Patrick

    Don't think you should have to much of a problem, as I think that they both fit into a 40x40 hole, and if you already have 12 volt wiring to the a/c unit, or if not wiring that could be used it may need some re-routing to get wire to side of hole.

    I have not fitted one personally but had one fitted to previous van and from memory they took approx 2 hours including running wiring from floor up wall and through the ceiling.

    We have one fitted to current van, came with it and we have been very pleased with it when hot as it provides an airflow throughout the van on extract, taking hot air out through the roof and does not need to be running too fast, so is not as noisy as some a/c units I have heard.


    Dave :thumb::thumb:
     
  3. Johns_Cross_Motorhomes

    Johns_Cross_Motorhomes Trader - Motorhome & Accessory Sales

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    5,197
    Location:
    East Sussex 01-580-881288
    Hi

    If the aircon unit is working I would advise leaving it in an as it adds value to the van where as a turbo vents attraction is minimal in comparison.

    I have turbo vents in stock if you want one but consider the above.

    Peter
     
  4. Family Guy

    Family Guy Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    runcorn
  5. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi Patrick I agree with JCM- Peter so if you take it out then store it to refit come sale time.You will already have wiring in place whether it be 240 v or 12v so it will be easy to rewire.The turbo vents make a hell of a noise on high speed but suck your hair off as you pass :Rofl1:Not too bad on slow or medium speed :BigGrin:I have one in my garage that I intended to fit in this van but dropped on a 900 mm heiki instead :thumb:
    terry
     
Loading...

Share This Page