Air Suspension

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Fishdude, Sep 29, 2016.

  1. Fishdude

    Fishdude Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Hi.
    Ive just purchased an Autocruise Starfire.
    On the drivers step is a gauge with 2 pipes going to it. This appears to read zero.

    I assume this is something to do with air suspension.

    Can anyone yell me what to do with it.

    Thanks

    Fish
     
  2. Baycott

    Baycott Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    6,315
    Likes Received:
    10,595
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Hi @Fishdude and welcome to Fun.
    I think those gauges are indeed for air assist and should not read Zero.
    As I understand it, that me and the air bags are flat and will wear out quickly. I think there should be at least 2 bar in there but I'm sure you will get more experienced advice shortly.
     
  3. DP_JAY

    DP_JAY Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cark, Cumbria
    Minimum pressure should be about .3 of a Barr (5 psi). I usually run at 25 to 30 psi (2 Barr ish).
     
  4. daveandsan

    daveandsan Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    Location:
    South Staffs
    Do not drive without any air in system, i park mine up and leave about 10 psi in and run at 40 to 50 psi depending on load.
     
  5. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    Uk
    Has if got valves on the pipes,,to select which side to inflate, if so both valves maybe shut and hence gauge showing zero.
    Ps I could be wrong
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,283
    Likes Received:
    12,122
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    It could also be that the previous owner removed the air bags when he sold it, or if he wasn't happy with them, but left the gauges so as not to leave holes on the inside

    I had mine taken off when upgraded to fully automatic system, if the same as mine they are about 6" high and similar across, round rubber things, sorry not very technical o_O but they should be visible if fitted on yours by looking underneath inside rear wheels

    If they are fitted, then as advised they should have air in or will be damaged, having said that, when we bought ours we didn't know it had air suspension and drove 100's miles before we found out it had and worse had no air in one side at all, no damage done (y)
     
  7. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    15,268
    Location:
    notloB
    Ours has a gauge and a tyre valve behind each front seat, I run ours @2bar to make it run level.
     
  8. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Sounds very much like "air ride" suspension...
    As said should not be empty as that will ruin the air bags..
    Turn taps so they are in straight vertical line with pipes (open), connect foot pump and give them a blow up..
    Pressure should hold if everything is ok..

    http://airide.co.uk/
     
  9. Fishdude

    Fishdude Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Wow, thanks for the prompt replies.
    looked closer and it does say air ride on it.
    It does register when I pump up with a bike pump, but the adaptor is naff.. Now need to get a decent valve adaptor.
    Everyone agree at 2 bar?
     
  10. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Play with the pressure to see what suits, try a few trips and see how the ride feels...
    Mine I run at 3 bar but it's more to get my "ass" off the floor and it does catch sometimes due to the long overhang..
     
  11. Lorryman100

    Lorryman100 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    UK/Scotland
    Have a look underneath at the rear axle and you should see what looks like rubber bellows on each side, these are the airbags. The airbag can be seen behind the shock absorber,

    [​IMG]

    My system is from VB and the gauges and pipework look like this,

    [​IMG]

    Depending on the system you have fitted there are maximum pressures, the VB system is 3 bar max but after playing around with different pressures I now run mine at 1 - 1.5 Bar
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. TerryL

    TerryL Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    1,250
    Location:
    North East
    I tend to run mine at 50 psi - gives a nice stable ride without being too hard.
     
  13. Fishdude

    Fishdude Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Thanks guys. Now at 2 bar, will see how that goes.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Mack100

    Mack100 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    here
    I'd been running our Dunlop system at 1.5bar but on the advice of the installer I upped it to 3bar. What a difference! Not only is the ride smoother and quieter but when overtaking HGV's and car transporters the wind induced "nudge" is absolutely minimal.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
Loading...

Share This Page