Oct 20, 2013
France
Funster No
MH
Dethleff Globebus
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi we live in SW France.
We are hopefully driving to Croatia in September.
We are trying to sort out a route from France into Italy then Croatia.
Has anyone got any advice on driving in Italy, any route ideas and also any good aires in Italy?
We hope to avoid toll roads as much as possibe.
Look forward to hearing from you.
Thanks.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
I believe even if you use just one toll you still need to buy a vignette.

So, you may as well use tolls to get your money's worth.

OP
OP
J

Jansteve

Free Member
Oct 20, 2013
France
Funster No
MH
Dethleff Globebus
Exp
I'm a newbie
THanks for that, will look into how to get a vignette.
Has anyone stayed on Italian aires?

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Unless im mistaken you can buy vignettes at service/fuel stations just before and after the Italian border and within the country if you drove in on normal roads..

Use tolls without one will result in heavy fines.

Mel

Free Member
Oct 6, 2012
De Haan Belgium
Funster No
MH
Caravan LMC
Exp
Since 2010 Caravan since 1995
I did not know Italy had a vignette.
I thought it was just pay on the motorway like France

It also depends where in France to where in Italy for the best Route.

Mel

magicsurfbus

Free Member
Oct 11, 2010
NW England
Funster No
MH
Bessacarr Coachbuilt
Exp
Since 1997
If there's vignettes in Italy that's a recent development - in late 2013 it was toll booths, like France.