Advice please re digital TV Aerial

Discussion in 'Website Help' started by Mimble, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. Mimble

    Mimble Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Hello there
    I am a newbie having only just bought a second hand camper to take my husband out and about (he has just been diagnosed with terminal cancer). I would like advice please on what type of TV aerial to buy - there seem to be so many different types out there and I am now utterly bemused :Confused:. I have a digital TV/Freeview/DVD player which I'd like to be able to use in my Fiat Ducato Camper would that be possible or would I need to buy a portable?
    Any help much appreciated
    Thanks
    Mimble
    xxxx
     
  2. acting_strange

    acting_strange

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    2,568
    Location:
    North Hykeham
    I just bought, and use, and ordinary TV aerial and a folding pole for using ith my Ducato. I clamp it to the rear bike holder and then I can just poke my arm out of the window for fine tuning...:thumb::thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    • Like Like x 1
  4. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    Hi Mimble
    I too have a TV Ariel mine cost £10.00 from Wilkinsons,I clamp it to the bike rack as well, If you wants more permenant one there are some that a fitter can fix through your roof say into a wardrobe, less messing for you should cost around £150.00 or o fitted. Peter

    In the meantime enjoy your new purchase and good luck to you and hubby.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Mimble

    Mimble Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cornwall
    aerial advice

    Gosh, that was quick - thank you very much all of you for the advice. Much appreciated
    xxxx :thumb:
     
  6. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    5,563
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Hi Mimble welcome to you and Hubby
    Have you thought about how your going to power your TV, if on site hook up (Mains) that wont be a problem
    Im going to shoot all these tight wads down, Home aerials on poles:RollEyes:
    What do they look like, only one step away from using an old lorry Tarp as an awning
    £thousands on a motor home and a tenner on an arial boy oh boy it makes me cringe where is the snob value in a B&Q end of line aliminium clothes pole
    No what you need is an all singing and dancing status 530 either short pole for a cupboard or long pole for inside a wardrobe:thumb: wind it up from the comfort of your mobile home without having to stick your arm thro an open window:RollEyes: buy once buy right:thumb::thumb:
    Geo
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    Goodness Geo - obviously you are a man of means. Would that we were all the same. Can I send you a begging letter? :Rofl1::Rofl1:

    Ivy
     
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    They all come bask marked "Return to sender -- Gone Away".

    Does not fool the VAT guys though.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    5,563
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    No Ivy
    Just opinionated.
    Arials on poles comes a close second to buying bottled water:BigGrin:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    5,563
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Now ther'e guys I don't mess with wish I could pay em 10 x what I do though:Wink:
     
  11. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    Geo so a wire coat hanger sticking out the roof is also a no go then lol
     
  12. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    5,563
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Strangely enough ther'e OK:thumb:
    Innovation at its best:Wink:
     
  13. davanne

    davanne Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    7,111
    Location:
    Carmarthenshire
    Hi Mimble
    Welcome:Smile:
    I have sent you a pm
     
  14. Jaygee32

    Jaygee32 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Norfolk
    We have a status aerial and it's useless! we use the old fashioned one on a pole. Perfect picture every time.
    Joan
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    i have a status thats also useless but im also wondering if its not a digital 1 a 530 i think mine is
     
  16. joner8888

    joner8888 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    somerset
    My mate has a big Oyster dish on his 6 wheeler
    He says-
    It`s big-It`s automatic-it looks good but-
    When it`s windy, it goes off sat lock and folds down :Eeek:
    He uses a £55 tripod dish pegged down and can move it away from trees ect, if on a fixed site spot.
    Keep it simple and it works:thumb:
     
  17. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    The status 530 is a waste of time except in high signal strength areas, you need to replace it with 550 but then you have to rotate it to point at the transmitter.

    There is no such thing as a digital aerial, they're all the same. Don't believe what they say in the adverts.
     
  18. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,890
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Strange Brian...before they released the 550, the 530 was the dogs dangly bits :RollEyes:

    now, the 513 WAS/IS a waste of time and money for the very reason you state.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  19. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,426
    Likes Received:
    25,080
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    You are so right, was confusing 530/330. ( Is that one all ? )

    Oops.
     

Share This Page