Advice on used motor home please (1 Viewer)

jamie upton

Free Member
Jan 31, 2017
bristol
Funster No
MH
dont own one yet
Exp
im a newbie
Hi all. I'm new to motor homing but was wondering if anyone could give their advice on my first purchase.
I'm after a 4 berth 4 belted seats home and not too big (I currently drive an ldv maxus hi roof van for my sins which I'm used to). I'll be traveling mainly with my 5 year old son but my parents will join us from time to time. I'm 6ft tall and have found this an issue in some of the examples I've looked at. I've got 25k to spend and am considering a Hymer Classic 2007 which is listed for 23k. I know it's the basic Hymer but I wanted a quality home. Does anyone have any advice they could give on this or possibly suggest any other quality manufacturers / models? One other thing, alot of the older models I looked at yesterday smelt stale. It's this par for the course with a 10 year old home? Thanks in anticipation.

suavecarve

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2009
Surrey/Hants
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 685
Exp
July 09
Firstly welcome, and secondly i know nothing about Hymers.
There are lots of ppl who swear by Hymers and swear in scandinavian that they dont leak !
With any motorhome purchase take the advice for what it is .....advice.
My advice is to work out what you need (ie 4 sleeping spots, fixed bed ? garage ? solar panels? gas? under/over 3.5 tonne ? diesel ? mileage? age ? from a dealer ? bike rack ? winterised? and anything else that suits your needs.
Start with a blank piece of paper and have musts/desired/dont care. then go through ebay/trader/gumtree/MMM and see what hits your list.
You may have already done that and worked out you want a hymer classic 2007

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Oct 5, 2012
Ayrshire
Funster No
MH
Carado T132
Exp
5 years, feel free to ask me about the Carado!!