Advice On Freeview Tv Please

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Millie's Mum and Dad, May 31, 2015.

  1. Millie's Mum and Dad

    Millie's Mum and Dad Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hi
    We're new motorhomers, having picked up our 2008 Bolero last week. It's fitted with a Status 530 aerial and we've had a VisionPlus LED16DVD telly fitted (12v and 240). We got a beautiful picture on the CL we stayed at this weekend, just to try everything out, but only a few TV channels and a handful of radio channels, although we expected to be able to pick up all the freeview channels (in particular I was looking for Create and Craft!). Am I missing something here? Do we need something extra to see Freeview. At home, we have Sky and as caravanners, we carried a spare Sky box and Camos PAPSA sat dish, so are pretty ignorant as far as freeview is concerned.
     
  2. Figaro

    Figaro Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    673
    Location:
    Newcastle under Lyme Staffordshire
    Sounds like you need a sat dish fitting to use your sky subscription. Free view channels will vary dependant upon signal
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Stroppy Bird

    Stroppy Bird Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    374
    Location:
    Lincs
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    11,111
    Location:
    Kettering
    The weather conditions will affect the freeview channels you pick up as well as where you are.
     
  5. teensvan99

    teensvan99 Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Margate
    Hi.

    We fulltimed for over 7 years and the only cheap TV route to go is a crankup sat system. £550 plus a cheap fortic star sat box from maplins will last you years and you can watch tv out of the UK. Our system on our last van was still working well when we sold it after 10 years of use.

    steve & ann. -------------- teensvan99
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. TerryL

    TerryL Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    1,239
    Location:
    North East
    You seem to have all you need for Freeview reception, although I agree the Status 530 aerial ain't the best. Cheapest option might be to replace it.

    By the way, you did re-tune your TV to the local transmitter didn't you?
     
  7. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    The channels available vary from area to area as they use different multiplex so some channels will be stronger than others. Improve matters with a decent antenna or switch to Freesat using a sat dish and decoder.
     
  8. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I assume you are pointing directly towards the transmitter mast and have thecorrect orientation on the aerial...horizontal or vertical.....it makes a big difference..

    Digital tv is critical for accurate alignment and a few degrees off the mast will lose most of the channels.
     
  9. Cal54

    Cal54 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    6,314
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Why not invest in a signal finder. I have found it a lot easier to tune in my TV to the correct mast when travelling since investing in the little black box. Recommended to me by Dave Newell.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. The Wino

    The Wino Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    1,996
    Location:
    leicester
    Depends also on the local area in Whitby the local transmitter only give the main chanels. Might be best to try a few other locations before spending more.
     
  11. ABZSteve

    ABZSteve Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    802
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Hi Carol, can you post a link please, I think I will buy one of these, cheers, Steve.
     
  12. Cal54

    Cal54 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    6,314
    Location:
    Lancaster
    • Like Like x 1
  13. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    2,892
    Location:
    East london
    Instead of paying you could get the free android app called UK aerial alignment.
    Works well showing direction and wether vertical or horizontal
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,204
    Likes Received:
    2,282
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Yep this app is good. I have rarely found it any problem to get at least some digital channels. The cost of a decent satellite set up is such that I don't think it is worth it. There are enough crap channels on freeview, I don't need any more.
     
  15. M1ke

    M1ke Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Every area you visit requires that you retune your television to obtain all the channels. Give that a bash before investing in any further equipment.
     
  16. ABZSteve

    ABZSteve Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    802
    Location:
    Aberdeen
  17. tick59

    tick59 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    A lot of the Free view channels need internet to view. fun!!! fun!!! fun!!!
     
  18. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    may SOUND STUPID BUT THE 530 IS A DIRECTIONAL AERIAL -HAVE YOU TURNED/TUNED IT to where you are plus the tv will need to be retuned -usually first time installation
    terry
     
  19. Jimbohorlicks

    Jimbohorlicks Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    822
    Location:
    Cheshire
    We found this to be the best option when we had our status arial-never had any issues after a quick retune -give it a try before you spend any hard earned.(y)
     
  20. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,612
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    The number of Freeview channels available varies wildly from one area to another. At home we only get 23 channels, the mainstream ones, yet when we visit Edinburgh I can get somewhere around 160. As someone said above it depends on how many multiplexes they use, are really how much the broadcasters are prepared to invest. A low population area will always have less channels than a densely populated are. Unfair as we all pay the same fee.
     
Loading...

Share This Page