Advice on buying a camera.

Discussion in 'Photography' started by Solly, Dec 4, 2014.

1. Solly

Solly Funster

I'm looking to buy a camera ( present from wife) Basically I have very little experience of cameras. I had an Olympus SLR many years ago but never really had the time to use it fully. I'm now retired and looking to develop a new hobby so want something that has potential to develop from basic understanding a bit more sophisticated photography. In addition I don't want to lug loads of gear about. "laziness" is my retirement watchword. I have 2 possibilities, however advice on others possibilities would be welcome. (a) Fuji XE 1. Looks like it as loads of potential but maybe complecated ( b) Samsung NX 300.I have to say I'm not sure about WiFi on Samsung, also lack of viewfinder. However it does in my limited knowledge seem to have a reasonable spec.
    Any advice would be very welcome
    Solly

2. Speve

Speve Funster

My missus gave me a Nikkon D3100 couple of years back its not a bad camera and takes good pickies comes with a good self adjusting lens as well so to start with it's like an automatic as you get used to it you can start doing all the things the pros do and get some quite good results.(y)

3. motorhomer

motorhomer Read Only Funster

A bit like motorhomes in that choice is very personal, whatever you are most comfortable with.

Having had a number of cameras over the years I now do not want to carry stuff about and insist on a small compact. But I also like a powerful zoom, and a viewfinder for bright light.

Bought a Panasonic TZ60 recently, its brilliant. Despite being very small it has a 30* zoom, a viewfinder, very powerful auto, but still full manual if you want it, and can save in RAW .

4. magicsurfbus

magicsurfbus Funster

If you've still got the SLR kit, consider selling the lenses on eBay to subsidise your new camera. The Buy It Now prices for good condition SLR lenses by leading makers like Olympus are worth looking at.