Advice needed to start on my motor home journey (1 Viewer)

Mrs M

Free Member
Aug 11, 2013
Kent
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello everyone wonder if you could kindly set me on the right road.

My husband and I are completely new to motor homes and don't want to walk into buying one blind so any help and advice would be much appreciated.
We are seasoned campers (tents) and after many an envious moment setting a tent up in the rain and watching motor homes just pull up and well that's pretty much it (from our unknowing point of view, there probably is some kind of setting up involved) we have decided to swap the tent for a what seems more convenient mobile home. We have two children and a large dog so would need something big enough to cater us all. Our top end budget is £8000 but would rather spend between £4000 or £6000. Obviously we're looking for a second hand motor home but want to get something that is known to be reliable or that has parts readily available if needed. Any suggestions for makes and models please?

Thanks in advance

Cat

Jan 27, 2013
Stamford
Funster No
MH
Benimar Mileo 282
Exp
Seven plus years
Most would say hire a van for a weekend. This will ensure you are okay with driving a larger vehicle and let you experience the concept of motorhome ownership.

After a couple if days you'll also get an understanding of what layout suits your needs.

As for reliability they are all built on a chassis designed for high mileage so there are no real issues in this regard. Reliability of equipment in the habitation is another thing. Some owners look after there motorhomes more than others so shop around to get something previous owners have loved.

Upvote 0

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid