Additional 240v sockets

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by oldflemo, Apr 12, 2015.

  1. oldflemo

    oldflemo Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    Redcar- N.Yorkshire
    Hi looking again for guidance from the wise!
    Needing to add 240v socket outlets as there are only two in MH. Should I run a "ring main" or is it not required and just "spur off" existing socket outlets using 2.5 mm flex
    Thanks again for your kind assistance.
    Ian
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2015
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,859
    Likes Received:
    14,511
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Vans don't have ring mains.
    Circuits will be radials 6 to 10 amp depending on usage.
    EDIT or if a CBE distribution unit all circuits come off one bus rail protected at 16 amps
    Remember the most you can input is 16 amps anyway.
    For ease I would find the last socket and extend from there so you don't have 9 conductors in one outlet.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,859
    Likes Received:
    14,511
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Wifey wanted one under the bedroom mirror for hairdryer etc.
    The toilet sink unit backs onto the wall so I used a 1 gang fast fix box sikaflexed in place to shield the terminations
    [​IMG]
    User side
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Much easier than the purpose made CBE back box especially when 2 cables are in play.
    This is end of line but still better IMHO
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    12,129
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    No disrespect to you Oldflemo, but IMO when you need to ask you probably need to get it done by a professional

    I sometimes really worry at the level of work being undertaken on peoples own motorhomes, I appreciate that adding another socket is little more than plugging in an extension lead, but we cant do the same in our houses anymore

    Speaking about my personal ineptitude, which skews my opinion to this day, the only electrical job I ever did when newly married and broke, went to change a light fitting in our lounge and discovered that 'the idiot professional electrician' clearly didn't understand what he was doing, fancy connecting red and black wires together, never mind that it worked I would put it right

    So we spent the night in darkness when none of the downstairs lighting worked, until reinstated the next day by an electrician

    I know things cost to get done, but what price personal safety (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,859
    Likes Received:
    14,511
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes David it was quite normal to use the black as a switch wire but it should have had oversleeving or a red band on it :LOL:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,859
    Likes Received:
    14,511
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    CBE 230 volt distribution boxes employ a bus rail that uses these connectors and often there are spare connections so easy to add a completely new circuit.

    [​IMG]


    The only seller I know that stocks these is Marcle leisure but I carry spares in the van always.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. oldflemo

    oldflemo Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,165
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    Redcar- N.Yorkshire
    Thank you Techno100 for your advice which I'll closely follow
    Ian
     

Share This Page