Adding Power Sockets !

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Kool Kroozer, Jun 17, 2014.

  1. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    For you tech heads out there - I would like to be able to have a couple more 240v sockets in the van, maybe one at the rear of the van and one near the cab area, is it possible to do ? and if so is it pretty easy to sort ? Thx in advance :thumb:
     
  2. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    10,198
    Location:
    Dorset
    not difficult at all. if you can wire a 3 pin plug, drill a few holes and drive a few screws, you have the necessary skills.

    just wire them into the back of current sockets and run the cable neatly with plenty of P clips. you can buy sockets to match the originals on ebay or marcle leisure hold a good stock. nothing looks worse than a bodged job using household white sockets. take your time planning the wire run and you can usually conceal it very well. where it absolutely has to run surface, buy mini trunking in a matching colour:thumb:
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  3. joner8888

    joner8888 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    somerset
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,567
    Likes Received:
    26,682
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Using flexible cable of course.
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  5. grasscutter

    grasscutter Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    Location:
    East Wittering. West Sussex.
    Brian is quite right. Use a flexible cable not twin and earth.
     
  6. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    10,198
    Location:
    Dorset
    absolutely, but there is always one that tries to use twin and earth:Eeek:
     
  7. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,768
    Likes Received:
    2,710
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    I recently did this - put a double socket on the side of one of the fixed beds. Found the 240v feed quite close and cut in and fixed proper 30A junction box. Then ran flexible cable to it. I used a brushed chrome one with black inserts from B&Q. It is a reasonable match to what was there.
     
  8. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Thx guys :thumb:... I have done many electrical sockets in the house so i know the jist of it but just wanted to know if it was any different - but what is this flexi cable ? and where do you get it from?
     
  9. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    10,198
    Location:
    Dorset
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    30,120
    Likes Received:
    17,789
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    yes there is a difference.....house is a ring main and motorhome is a radial or radial star.
     
  11. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,803
    Likes Received:
    6,064
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Arctic quality preferably, white flex or Orange or Blue same stuff as your hook up cables:thumb:
    Multiple stranded wire, as opposed to single strand solid copper twin and earth wire which may fracture with vehicle vibration
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2014
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,940
    Likes Received:
    25,630
    Location:
    .
    all answered except the reason for using flexible cable is that the installation is subject to vibration,..

    Extracted from .. Caravan Installations
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2014
  13. MikeandCarolyn

    MikeandCarolyn Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1,463
    Location:
    Worle,North Somerset
    I found it very easy-took van to 'my man' said I'd like two new sockets,one each side of table so we can run our laptops-he fitted them,I paid bill,simples:Rofl1:

    Mike
     
    • Like it Like it x 1
  14. Puddleduck

    Puddleduck Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,725
    Likes Received:
    14,495
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Once had a house wired as a radial..... or at least it was when we bought but not for long afterwards! The mains cable in was installed in 1929 and ran the length of the house, hessian covered. The electric company replaced it (free) as an emergency job :BigGrin:
     
  15. sb8263

    sb8263 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    leeds
    if you have a toolstation by you,,its ££££s cheaper than b&q for everything......

    www.toolstation.com

    dont need to be trade either.....
     
  16. Kool Kroozer

    Kool Kroozer Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Location:
    Cannock Staffordshire
    Big Thanks to all :thumb: this is one of the many reasons its worth paying your membership to be a funsta :Cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page