A wifi booster question for the boffins

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by laneside, May 26, 2013.

  1. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    5,289
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    We recently got a wifi booster from Motorhome Fun WiFi which we are really suited with for use on our laptop.
    To use it there is a disc to load which gives us Realtex 11n USB wireless Lan

    My question is we have now got an Android tablet is it possible to use the booster with this instead of the laptop and what download would it require.

    Answers in single sylabuls please for a pair of old computer illiterate old farts
     
  2. Wyaye wires

    Wyaye wires

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,831
    Likes Received:
    9,284
    Location:
    Berwickshire
    Surely your child bride isn't as old as you Alan? :BigGrin:
     
    • Like Like x 4
  3. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    if this is usb alan then just plug and play the drivers on the cd you got may not work for adroid but you should be able to find drivers online for it if you have trouble send me the details of the boosters and i will try to get you drivers
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. motorhomelover

    motorhomelover

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    613
    Location:
    The world
    If I get stuck will you drive my RV for me Bill?? :Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    9,629
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    I'll follow this with interest having just unpacked mine and stowed it safely away for our trip to Dover tomorrow, just a thought but I've got the omni-directional version so does it need to clear the roof for a signal, not sure I can reach that far up with no ladder? :Smile:
     
  6. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,434
    Likes Received:
    34,468
    Location:
    kent
    I think your tablet will just pick it up on wifi, then just follow the MHW instructions.

    I have only used it on an iPad and after a bit of initial faffing it's straightforward now.
     
  7. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,546
    Likes Received:
    25,668
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Don't know about your set up but I can use my pointy thing connected to the laptop and can connect to this with my Note 2 via the wi fi connection via ConnectifyMe software.

    JJ :Cool:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    depends, do you have an aluminium van or a Tupperware box. Ali will definitely screen it quite a bit
     
  9. Addie

    Addie Trader - Motorhome Wifi

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    406
    Location:
    York
    I'm afraid an android tablet (or iPad, or smart phone etc) cannot support any make of USB based WiFi antenna connected directly via a cable, these are only suitable for use with full size computers.

    What you could do is share the connection from your laptop to your android tablet via your laptops built in WiFi card, which is unused while you are using an external USB antenna.

    This does mean you need to take your laptop with you and have it on when you want to use your tablet, of course.

    You can do this via Windows ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) but we recommend Connectify as its a bit easier. http://www.motorhomewifi.com/blog/sharing-your-internet-connection-easily/

    If I can be of any further help, please let me know.

    Adam
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    my omni doesnt need to be clear of anything most times i use it from inside the van picking up signals with no problems you should always plug them in 1st and try them without the disk provided some disks can change your settings causin problem not all systems need the disks to be loads or drivers as i said i think alan what you needed was a mifi not a wifi
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page