A few C4 & ITV changes which may affect reception in Spain

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Satandpcguy, Feb 14, 2012.

  1. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Today there have been few changes to channels operated by C4 & ITV.

    Many of their channels have been moved from the Astra 2D satellite, to the new Astra 1N satellite.

    This has meant that where as in some areas C4, E4, More4< Film4, ITV1, 2,3 and 4 may have required 2.4m dishes to receiver these channels, not a much smaller 80cm dish may now be required.

    In fact I am now getting FIlm 4 on my 80cm dish where as yesterday I would lose Film 4 at 7pm on my 1.8m dish.

    This is only a short term thing, probably until a new satellite goes up later this year. It may also mean that sometime soon the BBC channel may also move onto 1N, whilst 2D is closed down and moved away, to make space for the new bird.

    More information
     
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Hi,

    We are at the rally in Marjal, with a new 1.2 metre dish, Sky HD box, and twin LNB.

    We were expecting to be able to get a signal but are having real difficulty. We have a Horizon satellite metre and it does not seem to want to find the satellite at all.

    My question is, will the change of satellite as you have identified above mean that the settings on the Horizon metre are incorrect now, and if so Pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeee how do we tune in to get Sky on our HD box or even just tune it in for our free view box?

    We have a dome, which I can understand will not pull anything in, but other funsters on the rally have Oyster systems which have no problem at all!!

    We really appreciate any help you can give.

    Ginny and Mike
     
  3. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    There have been no frequency changes to any of the BBC, ITV C4 channels with the moved from 2d to 1n (apart from the ITV1 centals that were on 11973)

    So any frequency your horizon was using for a BBC transponder will still be the same.

    And all other frequencies are still working on the other 3 satellites used for UK TV, so you should still be able to pick those up.

    So if you are not able to get your sky box working, then your dish is probably looking at the wrong satellite - a common error.

    Even your dome should be able to pick up some uk tv chanels, like Sky News. Thats on a nice and expat friendly south beam, where even a sky minidish should be able to pick it up. If you are unable to receive this on either of your boxes then you need to make sure you are on the correct satellite and all cable connections are good and proper and your LNB skew is correct.

    YOu may need to kick start your skybox into working. The frequency it looks at for its initial data download may not be available to you 24/7. So you need to get the box to look for this information via another frequenncy - services 0 0 1 select txponder, change freq to anothre (like 12129 or 12207), save settings and then the channel banner should populate indicating channel are there and working.

    If you have a "free to air" box, then just perform a channel scan and it will pick up channels on any frequency it can find.



    You will not be able to tune your freeview box to a satellite - as freeview is TV aerial only, and if used in spain will onlyy get Spanish channels.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire

    Thanks for all the information, Mike is going to try again tomorrow, he usually has no problem tuning in Sky or the digibox but we bought a new 1.2 mesh dish which we thought would work much better, it seems we might have been better off bringing our old 80cm dish!

    The freeview box is a satellite freeview but I forgot that I had to perform a channel scan so that might be the problem. In the past - before we bought the Horizon satellite meter - we used to find the satellite with the digibox and then change to the Sky box.

    I will try altering the Sky box tomorrow, but Mike says he cannot lock onto the satellite with the Horizon box? ? Can you suggest what he could try next?

    Ginny and Mike
     
  5. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Can you confirm that we should be setting the Horizon meter for Astra 1N? Usually we set it to look for Astra 2d.

    Ginny and Mike
     
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    At the moment, point the dish at the direction of where the sun is at 11am.
    As at that time the sun is right behind te UK TV satellites!!!

    However, you may not get some channels at that time, as when the sun is in that position, its energy swamps the UK TV signals causing many channel to be lost. (this happens for 20 minutes or so, for 2 weeks around march and october time).

    But it is a good indicator as to where to point your dish.

    You may find a solid 80cm dish will perform about the same as a mesh dish - at least thats my experience.

    If your "non sky box" already has channels loaded up into it, then a channel scan is not necessary - as no channels have changed their frequency. Just stick that box onto Sky news and align your dish until you get a channel.

    If your cannot locate the signals using your horizon meter, then you have an lnb or cable issue that is stoipping the signals going tot he meter, or your dish is not on the correct satellite.

    "Mike says he cannot lock onto the satellite with the Horizon box". then you have an lnb or cable issue that is stoipping the signals going tot he meter, or your dish is not on the correct satellite.


    "In the past - before we bought the Horizon satellite meter - we used to find the satellite with the digibox and then change to the Sky box." So why not try and do this now? Nothng has changed regarding the frequencies. just the name of a satellite. And this would not stop you from getting signals to alignyour dish with!


    Freeview is nothing to do with satellite.
    Freeview is via a TV aerial
    There is no such thing as "satellite freeview".
    On satellite there are "free to air" (ie BBC), "free to view" (sky card but no subscription ie Motors TV - also known as "freesatfromsky"), and subscription (sky card and no subscription ie Sky One)
     
  7. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    The channels on Astra 1N are using the same frequencies when those channels were on Astra 2D.

    Thats all that has happened.

    BBC News was on freq 10803 H on Astra 2d.
    BBC News is still on freq 10803 H now it is on 1N.

    So just use the same settings as you used to for Astra 2D.

    Nothing has changed with the frequencies.

    Astra 1N is, like Astra 2a, 2b, 2d, eb1, located at 28 east.
    Astra 1N is not at 19 east, where all the other Astra 1s are located.

    You will not find 1N listed as a satellite on your meter, as it is a new satellite.
     
  8. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Hi, success at last!!!

    Thanks for all your help and advice, Mike and Steve (Tonka) finally sorted it out yesterday afternoon, so we have most of the channels now. It is as good as at home except I cant search for a program or use the planning facility but apart from that everything is great.

    I think there were a couple of problems, the satellite meter needs to be updated and the contacts into the sky box were a bit iffy!

    The biggest problem is that I had to put up with Manchester United last night - and Mike's constant shouting and swearing at the TV, dont you love football!!

    Many thanks again, you are a star!

    Ginny and Mike at Marjal!
     
  9. yodeli

    yodeli Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    8,045
    Location:
    Balma (next to Toulouse) France
    Bonjour Monsieur UlmeWalace! Êtes -vous un robot? Ou un spam????

    Sinon ....
    Bienvenue

    Frankie
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,917
    Likes Received:
    10,686
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    If he is a robot he could require winding up as he was a bit slow to respond to previous post.:Smile:
     
  11. yodeli

    yodeli Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    8,045
    Location:
    Balma (next to Toulouse) France
    Obviously that one doesn't know how to use Google translation ... I frightened him away:Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    BBC channels will not be moving to a new satellite until "summer 2013"

    but what reception of that new satellite and the uk beam with bbc channels will be like around Europe is another thing altogether...
     
Loading...

Share This Page