A&E 8500 Awning Help!!!

Discussion in 'American RV's' started by Geo, Jun 24, 2008.

1. Geo

Geo Trader - Funster

What im needing is advise or information regarding replacing the safty lock/lever in the right hand end plate on the RV awning.
    Linda at Stateside Tuning is on stand by and has supplied Operating instructions in a down load to me, however what would be better is the repair or instalation documents
    As the awning tension and operation is 100% im thinking that in the closed position (Minimum Tension) it may be possible to just remove the end plate and replace with new cpmplete unit, or if available a repair kit for what I asume is a pawl and ratchet system inside, when replaced it would only then require a minimum amount of turns 2 to 3 at most to set the load as the awning applies full tension as its wound out.
    Anyone know if im on the right track or am I in cookoo land, and its a full removal and strip down, please bear in mind im a mechanic and if I could fit brake pads by putting them in the master cylinder i would:Rofl1:
    Do any of our American cousins know the right way to do it Tom!!! where are you
    Geo

2. Lindy-C

Lindy-C Deleted User

Geo

AFAIK there are no servicable parts to the ratchet/spring mechanism so a repair kit is not available......you would need to replace the whole unit :Smile:

3. Geo

Geo Trader - Funster

Get on the phone then Linda, budget 2/6d may go to 3 shillings for genuine parts:thumb:
    Geo
    ps, pp included of course
    pps do you do PX

Last edited: Jun 24, 2008
  4. Geo

Geo Trader - Funster

Ok, no help so far,now pushing he budget up to a Pound:cry:
    Geo
    must include labour

5. Forestboy

Forestboy Funster Life Member

6. Forestboy

Forestboy Funster Life Member

7. Geo

Geo Trader - Funster

Thats the info reqd Thanks Ror,:thumb: every RVr should get a copy of this
    Geo

8. madbluemad

madbluemad