A decent motorhome for £8000- is it possible? (1 Viewer)

life in the slow lane

Free Member
Feb 8, 2017
Midlands
Funster No
MH
Still looking
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello,
This is obviously a question only a newcomer to motorhomes would ask but is it possible to buy a usable motorhome for this amount and not end up throwing good money after bad.
I would not object to doing some remedial work as I have spent most of my working life restoring classic cars, however I would not want this to become a hobby. I would use the van regularly with at least one European trip each year (maybe two). Any advice would be appreciated.

glastry

LIFE MEMBER
Oct 20, 2012
northern ireland and portugal
Funster No
MH
a class s550
Exp
20+
Without any doubt it is possible,of course I do not know what your skills are,but if you find a van,there are loads of Intelligent people on this forum who will assist you!!

Upvote 0

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
Hiya, welcome to the fun house. :)

Yes it's possible but it really depends on what you need, ie how many of you are there, how big/small do you want, what facilities, how you intend to use it etc.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Upvote 0

suavecarve

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 18, 2009
Surrey/Hants
Funster No
MH
Rollerteam 685
Exp
July 09
8 k is eminently possible imho.

Dependant upon where your skills lie then I would just concentrate on it being a dry van. Any damp walk away as that is where your money will go.
Engine - Diesel is normally safe and good for 200K +.
Age - it depends how it has been looked after
Internal - cushions and seats will probably be showing some wear and tear.
External - different ways of tarting it up which arent too expensive

You will, if you do some good searching, find them where the owner has had it for 10 years and has a reason for sale.