4mm or 6mm cabling for Solar Panel installation

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Wollow007, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. Wollow007

    Wollow007 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading
    Hi Guy's,

    Got the cabling coming from the room from suppliers.

    Want to go for a decent internal cabling from regulator to batteries so going to get some tri-rated cable.

    Question is 4mm, which has the sufficen load capacity or 6mm to keep the loss low?

    Cheers :thumb:
     
  2. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Always, the bigger the better. As the actress said to the bishop.:Rofl1:
     
  3. Wollow007

    Wollow007 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading
    Ordered 6mm ;)
     
  4. Ridgeway

    Ridgeway Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Lausanne
    2mm will make the difference, said the actress
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
  6. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Depends on how many/how big the panel(s) are. My 325W has 16mm cable giving a potential 2% loss in 3M which I think is acceptable.
    This thickness of cable is available from Maplins where it is sold as speaker cable for those thumping bass systems in boy racers bangers.
     
  7. Wollow007

    Wollow007 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reading
    Calculator very cool thank you.

    Looks like 160w of panels over 6mm 10awg with a run from regulator to batteries is around 4% loss. I guess the solar cable to regulator has the same loss calculation?

    What you guys do about fuses, trying to find an inline to connect near the batteries on the live feed from the regulator?

    Cheers guys :thumb:
     
  8. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    Make sure you have a fuse between the panel and the regulator as well, this can be removed to protect the regulator if you need to disconnect the battery at any time. Maplin do in line fuse holders for standard blade fuses up to 40A and for giant blade fuses up to 150A (though you only need big ones for an inverter).
     
Loading...

Share This Page