4 months with the kids

Discussion in 'The Beginner' started by Chris Peake, Aug 15, 2016.

1. Chris Peake

Chris Peake Funster

Hi,

I'm planning to take a 4 month sabbatical next year (May-Aug) to spend some quality time as a family before the kids start school. We've got two girls who will be 3- and 1-year(s) old by that point. The current plan is to buy a motorhome and travel around Europe for the whole 4 months, but we've never had a motorhome or camper van before. More than happy camping though. As a newbie, I've got a few questions I was hoping the kind people of this forum might be able to answer! So here goes:

- We're planning to buy privately rather than through a dealer as we may choose sell (or at least swap) the motorhome when we get back. Of course, we might love it so much that we won't be able to part with it. Does that make sense as a plan?
    - Given the length of time we're travelling for, would a 6-berth give us much needed space over a 4-berth, or is a decent 4-berth plenty big enough?
    - Are there any features/layouts that would be particularly useful for a 4 month holiday? Bearing in mind the 2 small children as well (e.g. beds in certain locations, garage for "stuff").
    - As we'd be travelling almost exclusively on the continent, would LHD make sense over RHD?
    - Anything else important we should

Thanks in advance!
    Chris

2. Anthea M

Anthea M Funster

Hello and welcome!
    @Triple7 is selling a Hymer which may suit have a look on the for sale section

• Like Like x 2
  3. DavidG58

DavidG58 Funster

A major consideration will probably be the weight you can drive on your licence, unless you have taken an extra test you will be limited to 3.5t, this will restrict your size choices to some degree

nice plan though, hope you make it work (y)

• Informative Informative x 1
  4. Spidey

Spidey Funster