3G Dongle

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by billkce, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. billkce

    billkce Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Cabopino in Spain till May 15
    Got my free dongle and all set up on Dell Laptop. Receives e-mails & logs on fine. However, only can send e-mails from my home address - but at several campsites - although getting signal - will not send e-mails. Any ideas?:cry:
     
  2. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    Its something to do with not using your normal ISP, the best way I have found to over come the problem is sign up to a online email account, I find googlemail works the best for us.

    www.googlemail.com

    Just create a new account
     
  3. billkce

    billkce Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Cabopino in Spain till May 15
    As I thought...no-one else knows how to do it either....:Doh:
     
  4. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Laughing: You can creaate a Yahoo email account and access your usual Pop email account via the Yahoo account. Most Web based email accounts will allow you to do this. :thumb:
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Good thinking John .. Google mail also has this facility


    jim
     
  6. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    when using a computer in a public library I find that if I go to the wedsite of my home service provider (Tiscali) I can log in and receive my mail direct via webmail.
     
  7. falcon

    falcon Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Its a simple matter of setting the outgoing mail (smtp) machine address in your Outlook or other mail client.

    Normally you will have your incoming e.g. as mail.woden.com and your your outgoing as e.g. mail.woden.com but since you are using a mobile provider you need to ask them for that outgoing machine address. e.g mine with 3UK is smtp.mbb-three.co.uk .

    Just ring them , Vodafone or other provider and it will work like a dream. Webmail is fine but a lot slower.

    Francis
     
  8. speechie

    speechie Deleted User

    Dongle peculiarities

    Hi Been using this dongle for nearly 18 months Very good when good, but tempremental at times and in differnt locations You may be able to download messages, but not have sufficient signal strenght / capacity to send at times?? Whereas your home signal could be very strong For example on motorway M20 through KEnt, there is effectively no signal until Maidstone. (getting closer to London) Camping sites may be a bit remote for full functionality?:Wink:
     
  9. Stephen & Jeannie

    Stephen & Jeannie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,198
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    Gobowen near Oswestry !!
    Bumped this up for "chance" to have a look at !!
     
  10. vindiboy

    vindiboy Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    1
    My 3 Dongle is pay as you use, I top up £15 monthly when in England and let it lapse when in Europe,I just re-liven it when I return home with a top up. Generally it works very well in most locations on my lap top and at home, we don't have a land line only the Dongle.I have no trouble sending E Mails or receiving them, I have three E Mail addresses ,Tiscali, Yahoo and Google [ I love the Google format ] and I never had to do any thing to set the Dongle up to use I only plugged it into my lap top first time and started to use it . If I want Internet whilst in mainland Europe I use WI FI if available or Western Union offices or Cyber Cafe's, works for me . Keep it simple is my motto.:thumb::thumb:
     

Share This Page