3 works great in France.

Discussion in 'France' started by Snowbird, Jul 9, 2014.

  1. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    I can confirm that the 3 network is working well in France. I purchased a 3 PAYG sim for my wifi dongle and it works great in France with no roaming charges. My 3 phone can be used to call and receive from the UK using my home allowance. This started on 1st July. I believe fro October all Europe will be covered so goodbye roaming charges.
     
    • Like Like x 8
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Be trying mine this weekend(y)(y)
     
  3. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,950
    Likes Received:
    10,722
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Same applies in the US which will be handy.
     
  4. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,380
    Likes Received:
    9,666
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    And also on the phone if you have all you can eat data. Will help enormously and the old "what internet connection in Europe threads" will be consigned to the re-cycle bin of A-frame, grey waste and gassing threads.
     
  5. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Can't use it in Portugal or Spain and that's the eu.:crying:

    Just re-read your post, I hope so as we'll be in Spain from October.
    Then Portugal for the winter.:Smile:
     
  6. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Bumped as many have missed this thread. Yes it does work and its proven.
     
  7. Pat4Neil

    Pat4Neil Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    488
    Location:
    Essex
    Dave I think you can only use if to a maximum of 2 months in anyone year.
    Not sure it was going to cover all of europe from October, maybe Addie can come along and give us the low down.
     
  8. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    How would 3 know if you just kept buying £10 wifi sims. They are only activated when first used.
     
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,751
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    We have converted both our O2 unlocked phones to three on the strength of this French tariff, hope it's ok trying it out tomorrow(y).
    It's almost unbelievable 3p as against 35p a min on O2 never mind free internet data
     
  10. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Not only that, but if friends and relatives are on 3 in the UK, calls to and from France are FREE.
     
  11. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    3,435
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    As far as I am aware they have to be activated in the UK and used for a month before the free roaming comes into effect.
    I bought one this morning for £7.99 with 1 Gb at Curry's, I think they are available even cheaper online. I called in the three shop and the assistant said that the free roaming is activated as long as the sim has been used once in the UK but that is not what it says on the website, time will tell I suppose.
    Maybe possible to buy a few sims use them once in the UK and then internet in Europe all winter.
     
  12. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    I bought mine from the 3 shop for £10. I did activate it before leaving the UK, just to check that it worked. I have been using it now for a month and its due to be topped up shortly. I can do this online even when the credit has run out. If and when I top it up I will know what the situation is regarding one month only use.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Daz n Tina

    Daz n Tina Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    1,844
    Location:
    Emsworth
    i agree not had a bad signal yet we are using all you can eat data and minutes currently in Bergerac until tueday then off to souillac for a few days before heading home. Cannot believe how quite the campsite is and its in the town.
     
  14. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    6,732
    Location:
    Plymouth
    As JJ says above can confirm 3 working fine and three to three is free back to uk or any country in the plan left a spare 3 phone at home with daughter have been ringing daily also using viber and whatsapp to send photos and mail part of data plan works for me :cool:
     
  15. Allanm

    Allanm Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    3,045
    Likes Received:
    4,120
    Location:
    Cotes d'armor, France
    We are off to France next week, we both have 3 network phones so will be looking forward to not wandering around aimlessly looking for a Fon signal. According to 3, you are limited to 3 months usage, but not sure if that's per year or per session. I'll check with 3 before we go
    Allan
     
  16. sb8263

    sb8263 Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    leeds
    we just have the mifi on 3 , so will be interesting to see how that works....:(
     
  17. Pepperdog

    Pepperdog Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    staffordshire
    it also said on the net you needed to have an add-on to get the new rate in france, did this but have other tried. using 3 in Normandy. always get good cover here.
    have you tried labara in spain, 10euro sim with 7.50 calls only 1 cent per min to uk!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  18. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    6,732
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Using the mifi now with 3 sim works fine ,and full signal back here at Saint Laurent sur Gorre .
    two text messages from 3 (admin: http://192.168.1.1/) the usual welcome to France message and enjoy same rate as in the UK . works for me (y)
     
  19. Snowbird

    Snowbird Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10,141
    Likes Received:
    16,407
    Location:
    Liverpool.
    Did an online topup this morning and all is well. Cannot believe how good this is, free 3 to 3 calls to the UK and good wifi for a tenner a month in France. Lets hope they keep there word and extend it throughout Europe in October read for the winter sun.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
    At Le Crotoy (quite full and compAct in places lol) took a chance and came here straight from Dover very busy in town with a lot on
    3G works fine here.
    We had welcome and you are using same as at home
    3 one plan all you can eat data
    Just as a pointer you need to turn on Data Roaming for it to work.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page