3 Mobile broadband for £5 per month

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by scotjimland, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Seen this advertised and thought it was worth a punt ..

    Sim card cost is £3.95 plus a £10 top up

    That gives TWO months internet access, fair usage policy is 2gb per month
    can then top up as required.

    Ordered yesterday and the sim card came today, followed the very easy set up instructions and was on line in about 15 mins..

    very happy..

    http://www.pauldoesitall.co.uk/
     
  2. Blackeunos

    Blackeunos Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Hi Jim,

    Where did you get the sim, I have a 3 dongle and the best I can get is £10 for 1 gig and that only lasts a month.

    Regards
    Stewart
     
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi , see link in post :Wink:

    Then choose:

    SHOP

    Internet

    Unlimited Mobile broadband
     
  4. Blackeunos

    Blackeunos Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    Hi Jim,

    Thanks for that. Think I "Should have gone to Specsavers"

    Regards
    Stewart
     
  5. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    I also use 3.co and I get 5gig for £15 a month on a rolling contract and can be canceled with 1 months notice.

    Jim I would not manage on only 2 gig a month, with 2 computers running of the link the updates would swallow most of 2 gig.

    Doug
     
  6. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,546
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Jim

    Im a total numpty when it comes to stuff like this but could i use this abroad if not do you know of any good deals for going to germany and italy i also dont have a dongle so where is best place for one of them.

    Cheers Gerry
     
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Gerry

    yes and no, it will work but you would incur heavy roaming charges.. :Sad:

    When abroad I used free wifi spots, such as McDonald , libraries etc , I don't know any affordable sims to use abroad, others may be able to advise.

    Look on ebay for dongles, get one that is unlocked so it can be used with any network sim
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    I can see that if it's used as a home connection, but mine will only be used when away.. I have adsl broadband at home
     
  9. Douglas

    Douglas Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    401
    Location:
    South Wales,
    Slightly off subject but connected.

    I have 2 Broad band dongles, a 3.co and a Vodafone. Both companies have their antenna's on the same mast.

    Because the 3.co is a lot cheaper than the vodafone I use the 3.co and not the vodafone.

    Lately the link on 3.co has been getting pretty bad when using Skype video connection so I have just tried the Vodafone one to see if it was the same. The Vodafone link was far better and I would love yo use it but there deals on PAYG are far too expensive.

    Doug...
     
  10. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    My contract with 3 was coming to an end and I used to get 3gb for £7.50 a month but was using up all my allowance every month and I used to be pretty measly when using it, even refused my grandadughter Cbb's as I dint have much allowance so told 3 that I was leaving to go to O2 who could give me more allowance and guess what I got 15gb now for £15 a month with a super new wi fi dongle which throws a signal to 5 other laptops with a 32 gb memory card in it ALL for £15 a month fantastic deal I think?? just tell em you are leaving and see what they come up with, thats for folks with a contract obviously!!!:thumb:
     
  11. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,872
    Likes Received:
    10,679
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    I think that mine must still be a good deal then. I started with an 18 month contract but kept it after that period ended. 3 GB still cost me £7.50 month. In that time the service has improved beyond recognition. In fact I am using it as we speak.
     
  12. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,228
    Likes Received:
    34,406
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Doesn't necessarily mean signal quality is the same. One of the reasons I stopped using T-Mobile was that I couldn't get a signal at Lincoln Showground last September whilst "3" users had an excellent signal. I don't know if Vodafone and "3" share a mast there but I managed on GPRS on Vodafone, not 3G.

    Graham
     
  13. barryd

    barryd Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    101
    Location:
    Yorkshire Dales
    My Vodafone dongle contract is about to finish. I have paid £15 per month for the last 2 years. It was great at first and I needed it for business so its more than paid for itself but I have noticed in the last year the service isnt as good. One thought I had was to just dump the dongle all together and use an old Nokia N95 as a modem. My Vodafone phone contract includes unlimited internet (it isnt however unlimited) and I am paying £17.50 per month for that, 700 minutes and unlimited land line calls. Why not just use the phone as a dongle? Might be worth checking your phone contracts if you have unlimited internet you may not need a dongle.
     
  14. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,325
    Location:
    West Midlands
    SIMs abroad

    I'm still trying to find where I can get a SIM to use in my unlocked dongle when we go to France/Belgium. I am beginning to wonder if it is possible at all!
    Wyn

     
  15. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    Hi Jim,

    Interestingly the website you link to seems to imply that it is their 'instructions' that make this work.

    Have they found a certain technique for using the three service to the best advantage or is this a specific data plan that three do?

    Bryan
     
  16. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Bryan

    yes, they have found a way of getting this deal , it is not a specific 3 plan, so in essence you are paying the £3.95 for a 3 sim with the 'secret' instructions ..

    It is perfectly legit , they are only exploiting a loophole on the 3 site

    I first saw it advertised on ebay, so being a tight wad thought it was worth a punt, :Laughing:
     
  17. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342

    That's what I thought :Wink:

    Loopholes can be closed though, but not a great deal of money if it does...

    I'm almost curious enough to pay as I love a good loophole :Rofl1:

    Guess I'll wait until someone publishes it (or pm's me :BigGrin: )

    Bryan
     
  18. algill

    algill Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Help please Jim

    Help Jim :RollEyes:

    OK, so I sent off for the sim card which has now arrived and I understand the instructions.

    But - there is a small slot in the side of my dongle (free following a tip from here months ago), and the sim won't fit into it.

    Having put on my glasses I can now see it reads MICRO on the little opening thingy on the dongle.

    What should I do now? Do I need another dongle?

    Gill
     
  19. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .

    Hi

    I think that is a memory card slot you are looking at ..

    the sim slot is at the end of the dongle, there is a pull out tray close to the usb plug that holds the sim .. use your finger nail to pull it out , pop the sim in and push the tray back.
     
  20. dazzer

    dazzer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,698
    Likes Received:
    99
    Location:
    In my house
    Micro is for a micro sd memory card, the slot for the sim is as Jim describes :thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page