3 mifi roaming dongle required

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Gazza333, Jul 3, 2016.

  1. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    im looking for a mifi that will work with my 3 SIM card as when in France I discovered my wifi was locked from roaming by vodaphone although works great in UK.

    Before I go off to either speak to vodaphone or buy a new one, anyone got the cheap deal recently and now discovered they don't need it and wants to sell it ?

    Away in France in a few weeks again so need it sorted before then.

    Gary
     
  2. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,338
    Likes Received:
    7,594
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    • Like Like x 2
  3. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,747
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Was going to post the same but it seemed so obvious thought I might have read it wrong.
    Plenty unlocked ones on eBay for around that price.
     
  4. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Strangely I thought I had done this a few years ago. Bought a code to unlock so I could use my 3 sim in it. Works great in UK but won't let me roam. 3 says it's not them it's the dongle
     
  5. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Strangely I thought I had done this a few years ago. Bought a code to unlock so I could use my 3 sim in it. Works great in UK but won't let me roam. 3 says it's not them it's the dong
     
  6. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Apparently just need to go to settings and enable roaming. Only problem is can't see settings on the vodaphone pa be so think they may have disabled it
     
  7. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,747
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    We had exactly the same problem as you and someone on here posted how to do it and it worked straight off by just changing a couple of words, unfortunately (n) iv forgot what I did but if whoever told me is still on here I'm sure they could help you, I will try to find my advice in the meantime.
     
  8. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,462
    Location:
    Roobarb land
    image.jpeg I think this is what you need
     
  9. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,747
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    It involves going to a webpage if I remember right
     
  10. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,580
    Likes Received:
    11,568
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I'm sure I've read on here Vodaphone MiFi are notoriously difficult to unlock.
     
  11. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,462
    Location:
    Roobarb land
    Insert your 3 sim
    Turn on mifi
    Log into wifi making sure you connect to mifi itself
    Using explorer top bar type in 192.168.1.1 that will connect you to mifi home page
    Log in if setting have not been changed it should be
    User name. admin
    Password. admin
    Go to settings , Dial up. Mobile connection
    Enable roaming click apply

    Done
    I hope

    If that works mifi is unlocked for roaming
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,747
    Location:
    uttoxeter
  13. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    And there's the problem I don't have a settings option!
    I'll have a go again tonight but that's what I couldn't find last time
     
  14. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,462
    Location:
    Roobarb land
    I will be in Norton cains all next week if it's near enough I may be able to help
     
  15. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
  16. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,462
    Location:
    Roobarb land
  17. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,338
    Likes Received:
    7,594
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    That's a bit close to me . !!! Pm me if you wanna meet for. BEER. !! :)
     
  18. Peter & Elaine

    Peter & Elaine Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    6,462
    Location:
    Roobarb land
    You buying
     
  19. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,663
    Likes Received:
    6,838
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    If he is Peter, I'll pop along too. :rofl:

    Cheers,

    Jock. ;)
     
  20. Gazza333

    Gazza333 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    So I've changed the settings and it all works ok now. However I'm now in UK. How do I know if it will work when I'm in France next time ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page