3 Feel At Home

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Wildman, May 21, 2015.

  1. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    I have just returned from France where I was surprised to find my "3" 90 day sim in a "3" Mifi would not connect to "three" and insisted in trying to log into orange for which of course I did not have the appropriate log in details. So no wifi from the dongle in France which because I failed to complete a form on the last day of April cost me a lot of money (it had to be that particular day and no McDonalds in sight). I finally got home and onto 3 tech services. I was talked though changing the settings and ended up logging in with the mifi and going to http://192.168.1.1/ where I was able to tick a box that said auto connect when roaming. I assume every time I get a new sim I'll have to go through the same procedure but you will only do it once if you top up or have a contract. They did at least add some credit for the days lost. However that does mean connecting and start using the sim whilst in the UK if it is a new sim to ensure you can use it in France.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    3 payg is already set up Roger.....no need for any settings changes....and if you register a debit card with 3 you can top up online.

    Just top up and buy a package (required for feel at home)......£10 gets you 500mb, 100 minutes and 3000 texts

    In the UK you can use your credit as you wish without the need for a package, add on or bundle, whatever you want to call it.

    I use almost all my £10 topups for internet with a few texts and calls mixed in.
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Now you know...(y)

    It puts you and your company in a bad light as it could be construed as spamming.

    If you become a fully subscribed member you can request admin makes you a 'trade' member...trade being motorhome related services.
     
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    2,256
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Hi Pappajohn, I am thinking of getting a 3 PAYG SIM for my mifi.

    Went into a 3 shop yesterday but they had none in!!! You can only get them now with a prepaid package. They told me that when the package ran out you could not just top up and pay by the amount used, you had to buy a top up package. Is that correct? If not how much do you pay per Mb if you do not have a package?

    Also on PAYG do you have to have had the SIM for a certain amount of time before you are allowed to use the Feel at Home deal please? I understand you need a package in order to use Feel at Home. Is that correct?

    Peter
     
  5. Lindacarole

    Lindacarole Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Hi
    We purchased the 3 payg sim just before we came to Spain. We have used it here for 3 weeks with no trouble and the speed has been good everywhere so far. We had the 30 day one as a trial now we have the one year one.
    We are online for a few hours an evening and so far has cost about £1 a day we estimate.
    We are using free wifi if we get it, but on this site we would pay 5 euros a day.
    Ask in the 3 G store or get it on line.
    The messages we get from 3G say we get the at home package. We are using it on an iPad not a phone if that is any help,
    LC
     
  6. matamoros

    matamoros Funster

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    3,385
    Location:
    Ex Rochdale now Tavira, S. Brittany & Europe
    Feel at home works on PAYG sims, I am posting this on one from France. I bought 4 of these sims at a reduced price from PC World last summer when in the UK so can't comment on the availability now. I have topped this sim up on the internet recently but it was pre registered and used in the UK. The information at the time of purchase was that the card had to be used in the UK before the 'feel at home' would work but others at the time reported that the service was available without doing this.
     
  7. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,539
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I can only recount my experience. For a mifi you want a mobile data sim, not one for a phone. On the Three website looked for sim only deals and then mifi payg.

    http://store.three.co.uk/view/searc...rTariff=50to99.99&payGPriceForTariff=0to49.99

    The link above should take you there.

    I got the 3gb thing for £20 and it came in a couple of days.

    Then things got difficult. In order to top it up you need to register your payment card first but found this impossible. Then I rang them and was told you could only register a card by calling them - despite what the website stated at the time.

    Having finally registered a card I topped up my account with another £30. This money allows you to top up when you are outside the UK as apparently their system does not allow you to directly top up with a UK card outside the UK. All these rules suggest they have had a lot of problems with fraud in the past.

    The problem with directly topping up is the top up expires after a month whether you use it or not. The exception is any top up you buy above the amount the card was preloaded with. So if it came with 3gb and you buy an extra 1gb top up the top up just sits in reserve until the 3gb have been used up - then it will start on your 1gb top up and that will last for one month.

    I suspect the phone shop were trying to sell you a monthly package because they get commission on that. I have found our local shop staff useless - just buy on line.

    And remember you want a mifi card. If you put a payg phone only card in a mifi the system will block you after a couple of days - happened to me. Packages with voice and data will be fine but the cheapie phone only payg won't play.

    And of course make sure it works before you leave the UK. :)
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  8. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    2,256
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Thanks DBK. Do you have to have a package or can you just pay by the Mb used?
     
  9. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,539
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I don't think you can pay per Mb with 3 payg. It is all pre-paid, for example £10 for a gb - which seems to be lasting me about a month here in Spain. I don't know if that is what you mean by a package. They may do a monthly contract where you pay per Mb but I don't need the mifi when I get back to the UK so payg suits me.
     
  10. Encantador

    Encantador Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    UK
    Can anyone help with the following please...............

    I have a ipad with a 3 data sim card in it, I paid about £70 and it lasts for 12 months or 12Gb, have been using it sparingly for about 6 weeks.

    Planning a 2 month trip to France/Spain (short notice) hopefully leaving in about 2 weeks. Will this sim just work in both countries, or will it need some sort of messing about with once we get over there?

    Also, am thinking of taking a laptop, would I be able to tether from the ipad to the laptop using this sim card?

    I have a mifi, not used it in ages. If tethering is not allowed, can I just buy another 3 data sim (3 months or 3Gb) and use that to give me internet on the laptop??

    If I can, I would want to get it working here before leaving, would the mifi then need to be configured when arriving on France or should it just work?

    Thanks
     
  11. kaasbroodje

    kaasbroodje Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    772
    Location:
    Bristol
    I know it's possible to use a 3-2-1 payg sim. 3p per minute, 2p per txt, 1p per meg, credit doesn't expire, I have one for my 10yr old, it's the perfect tariff for kids.
    Also get 150mg free with a £10 top up, so quite good value for a low user. I don't think you can tether with it though !


    Another option is the Sim Plan for Mobile Broadband.

    10gb per month, 1 month rolling contract, ability to tether, £15pcm.
    It works well for me, initially I was going cancel after European tour but I've found it so useful, I continue to pay the monthly bill.

    Recently, I've been considering an upgrade to the 4g Mifi dongle.
    15gb per month for £20 including a new 4g dongle.

    Seems like a bargain, downside is a two year contract....
     
  12. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    7,546
    Location:
    Dumfries
    We have a 3 PAYG in our IPad and I'm sure the first time you want to use it abroad you have to go to your account and make sure the box for feel at home is ticked or just phone 3 and they can do it over the phone.

    Before heading the the ISA last month Lorraine changed her phone and for some reason we couldn't connect it to the Internet while there, we just sent them an email while on Wifi and within 6 hours 3 had emailed back to say her feel at home had been activated it's a shame you hadn't done that roger.
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Argos, sainsbury, morrisons.....just about anywhere that sells sim cards......usually a quid.
    i bought mine with my phone from argos....and they waived the 99p cost, so generous of them. :LOL:

    None package/bundle cost is 1p per mb (bundled you get 500mb with 30 day expiry), 2p per text and 3p per minute talk time.

    Yes, to use feel at home in europe you do need a package/bundle bought from your credit/top up.
    no, you dont have to wait with payg....its instantly usable in europe.

    Top up is non expiring....just use it until is spent no matter how long.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2015
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Mine is a phone sim which may be why they told you you had to do as they said in the shop.
    it does work in my mifi but i havent used it for more than an hour or so on rare occasions

    I rarely use my mifi dongle now as i tether to my phone
     
  15. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    ok let me start again it was a 3gb 90 day data sim cost £20 odd quid from the 3 shop, in a 3 locked mifi it switched to roaming and requested I sign in to orange. It appears the setting that needed altering was in the mifi itself but could only be changed with a computer when connect, hence the reason to check before you leave the UK, possibly later mifi's are already set to autoconnect when roaming mine was not hence it failed to work. I explained what happened to me not a friend or acquaintance, the three shop could not sort it I had to phone tech services.

    You do NOT need a package of any sort other than a PAYG card or prepaid card.
     
  16. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Sorry Roger......directly from 3s website.

    http://support.three.co.uk/SRVS/CGI...=roaming,varset_subcat=4157,Case=EXT(EM11925)


    Probably why yours didnt work.
     
  17. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    sorry John no matter what is on the site the shop and technical services plus other people using them say it will work. The prepaid DATA ONLY card does not need further credit added.
     
  18. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,441
    Likes Received:
    16,867
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    My apologies Roger.
    i assumed you meant a standard payg phone sim.....which DOES require an add on bundle.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. jollyrodger

    jollyrodger Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    6,673
    Location:
    Plymouth
    [QUotTE="Encantador, post: 1426794, member: 17151"]Can anyone help with the following please...............

    I have a ipad with a 3 data sim card in it, I paid about £70 and it lasts for 12 months or 12Gb, have been using it sparingly for about 6 weeks.

    Planning a 2 month trip to France/Spain (short notice) hopefully leaving in about 2 weeks. Will this sim just work in both countries, or will it need some sort of messing about with once we get over there?

    Also, am thinking of taking a laptop, would I be able to tether from the ipad to the laptop using this sim card?

    I have a mifi, not used it in ages. If tethering is not allowed, can I just buy another 3 data sim (3 months or 3Gb) and use that to give me internet on the laptop??

    If I can, I would want to get it working here before leaving, would the mifi then need to be configured when arriving on France or should it just work?

    Thanks[/QUOTE]


    OK will try I have similar ( if bought from eBay) 12g or 12mth whatever comes first.
    Data ONLY will work in smartphone or MiFi in France & Spain .
    MiFi has to be allowed to roam ,with sim card in place and active ,whilst tethered to pc / lappy serch 168.192.1.1 - pw admin admin go to settings search for and tick allow roaming ,or such.
    Then SHOULD work in MiFi which will let you tether anyway (y)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. lou020

    lou020 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    257
    Location:
    huddersfield
    my 3sim data only in a mifi will only work in france if i put 3 mobile.co.uk or something like that,,,in the apn settings in the mifi settings. i had roaming etc activated but wouldn't work until i did this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page