3 feel at home, tethering issue

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Jonkil, Oct 5, 2015.

  1. Jonkil

    Jonkil Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    well, we've been in France since September 1st and using 3 feel at home.
    I installed the sim in a dongle and everything worked fine for the first 2 weeks. Tethered iPad and sattelite receiver, laptop etc without a problem and then out of the blue we got the webpage from 3 saying tethering isn't permitted.
    Anyone found a workaround if they encountered this issue ?
    I've contacted my supplier in Ireland and bought an international roaming package till we're home and now tether to that via the iPhone which works well, however not cost effective.
    So before our next visit I'll investigate the options and probably settle on orange.fr for a data sim as our supplier.

    Anyone else have suggestions regarding 3G or indeed 4G service for France ?
     
  2. BwB

    BwB Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Brandon Suffolk UK
    As I understand it, tethering is only allowed on "some" packages from Three. It may be worth swapping to one which allows it on Feel At Home providing the financial side still adds up
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,571
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I used a Three sim in a MiFi for the past four and a bit weeks in France without any problems. It was a data sim, what they call mobile broadband.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    10,700
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Only a part of your data allowance is for tethering, You have probably reached your quota.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    If it's not a dedicated data sim it won't tether, but if you are useing a dongle that's what you need as you can't do calls or text with
    Ii
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    I thought you could only tether on a contract SIM, not PAYG. and then only in the UK?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Shandyman

    Shandyman Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Wales
    You can tether in the U.K on a PAYG but not when abroad I bought the £20.00 package 300 mins, 3000 txt and unlimited data which work well in France.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    2,531
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    I recently bought a three mifi and can describe the situation as they explained it to me:

    on a mobile broadband tariff (such as you get with a mifi) you get all of your allowance for feel at home. if you go for the 4g option it includes 4g where available in the feel at home countries
    if you have a calls sim then a part of your allowance will be available for feel at home but not all of it. For an unlimited data bundle this would be 8gb.

    I got a 15gb mifi and a sim only 200 minutes unlimited text calls sim (no handset) and I am paying less than I was previously paying to t-mobile. I am happy... the only downside wil be having to take an extra charger when we fly to Teneriffe - in the campervan of course this makes no difference at all
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. mickyc

    mickyc Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Spain/Portugal
    We've got a Three mifi on payg and it allows tethering whilst roaming as explained by @mjltigger.

    We got 12gb with the mifi, and I've just "topped up" with another 3gb for £15.

    We also have an iPhone on Three on a contract, however this does not allow tethering whilst roaming.

    The mifi has been brilliant throughout France, and whilst I've never had 4g it's rarely failed to get a 3G signal.

    I'd say 80% of our internet use has been on the mifi, and 20% on FON through "the rocket"
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Doctor Dave

    Doctor Dave Funster

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Shandyman

    Shandyman Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Wales
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Jonkil

    Jonkil Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    We teathered all the wifi devices and all worked 100% for about 14 days and then we got "tethering not permitted" page after that. The sim still worked in the iPhone and allowed data but wouldn't tether other devices .
    I don't think we used 8GB, however we may have done !
    I'll talk to 3 when I return this week and see what the situation is.... If teathering isn't permitted I'll look for another solution as I need access daily for about an hour on the PC, so the phone isn't suitable for the programme I'm running.
    When it worked it worked well, it was just the tethering ability that went pear shaped.

    Thanks everyone for the input, appreciated.
     
  13. Jonkil

    Jonkil Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    That's the one I had too Richard
     
  14. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    One way around this, is get a tablet that you can phone on as well , think you can get up to 9 inch now, then just use the tablet for Internet then on the 321 pay and go feel at home thingy you get unlimited data plus calls and text while abroad on a £15 package(y):)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
  16. Jonkil

    Jonkil Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    I have the GSM capable ipad and that also reported the tethering issue with the SIM card in situ too.
    Problem is that I need to run an online programme via windows on the laptop so tethering is required.
    I will look into this too.
    Thanks @chaser
     
  17. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,571
    Likes Received:
    11,547
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    I think you just have the wrong sim, my data sim won't work in my phone if I try and use it as a phone.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,138
    Likes Received:
    7,717
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    That is correct
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Jonkil

    Jonkil Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    3,174
    Location:
    Ireland / London
    Thanks folks, I'll look into this.
    SIM bought in 3 shop, I'll call and have a chat with them when I'm home.
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page