3 Data

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Manic, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    Uk
    I needed to upgrade from my 5gb monthly plan for £8 pm and enquired in 3 shop and they're offering 20gb for £14 on a 24 month contract.
    So I phoned 3 and got 20gb for £13 on a 12month contract as a valued customer (y)
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    Did you aways use all of the 5GB?
     
  3. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,941
    Likes Received:
    14,016
    Location:
    UK
    I
    have started buying the £25 for 12Gb PAYG sims. some months I use loads of data others I use nothing so a contract over the year would be more expensive. These PAYG sims have a 12month life from activation.

    https://www.mymemory.co.uk/SIM-Cards/3/3-PAYG-4G-Trio-Data-SIM-Pack-Preloaded-with-12GB-of-Data

    Although I am about to start testing EE 4G data in a few places I frequent. If i can get 4g at a good speed I will probably sign up for the EE 50GB data plan for £30 a month. Then I could forget about looking for WiFi quite so often.

    http://shop.ee.co.uk/dongles/pay-monthly-mobile-broadband/4gee-wifi/details
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Khizzie

    Khizzie Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2,226
    Likes Received:
    3,329
    Location:
    Newbury , West Berkshire
    I usually buy the 3 12GB for about the same price and have found them to be everything I expected so very pleased .however coming back to EE I can only get it to be of any use in the UK . I tried using it as a backup while in France and although connecting to data it wouldn't let me use it .so I must be doing something wrong. Roy
     
  5. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,630
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    living the dream.
    I was paying £20 a month for around 5gb so saw an offer in a store for a years contract £10 for the first 6 months then £20 for the next 6 months for 30gb.
    I've been on it for 3 months now and saving £60 overt the year with lots more data.
    We're now in Spain with it working brilliantly, I know it might cut off in 2 months so I'll send the sim card to friends in the uk to use it for a few calls then have another 2 months after the new year probably now though as I know it's 2 months in any one year.
    Plus I only get 12 gb out of the uk but I usually don't use that much anyway.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  6. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Kent
    The EE extra data plans only offer 100mb per month free when roaming in EU.
     
  7. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    We are on the £20 for 15g monthly plan but we always have some data left over.
    I am beginning to think the 12g for 12 months sims might last us for say 6 weeks and be better value especially in Europe when there will be campsite wi fi as well
    It also means there's no worry about getting cut off Feel at Home after 2 months
     
  8. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    Uk
    Yes, not very often have much left, with 2 of us using it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. Clarky

    Clarky Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    1,176
    Location:
    Suffolk or France or ........
    Can anyone confirm if the '3' 12gb sim needs to be activated in the UK before use in France?
    I'm thinking of getting a MiFi plus a couple of sims for our longer trips.
    I already have a monthly phone contract with 3 but I can't tether when abroad and after 4 weeks continuous use in a 'Feel at Home' country they cut your data off. That plan had to be active in the UK for 30 days before use abroad.
    Taking a couple of sims I can just swop them after 4 weeks (or is it 8 weeks with the data sim?) but will my 12 months start from then.
    If I have to activate in the UK before we leave it will cut the time that it lasts by an enormous amount.

    Richard.
     
  10. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    My understanding is that they can be activated abroad..........................12 months starts from then.You only need to swop them when the data expires.................and with more and more places with free wi fi they could last a while.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Dazzlin

    Dazzlin Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    1,571
    Location:
    on the road
    We put ours on in Belgium. It has worked all the way through Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Austria and Italy.
    Not much reception when we first crossed into Italy in the Dolomites but ok now in Treviso.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. gus-lopez

    gus-lopez Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    8,051
    Location:
    Lorca,Murcia,Spain
    Don't know about data but with the phone when they cut you off after 2 months then it cannot be used 'roaming' for another 12 clear months . I asked the qusetion when they cut both mine last year. They work again in UK .
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Lenny HB

    Lenny HB Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,254
    Likes Received:
    5,055
    Location:
    West Sussex
    A couple of questions.
    Do you know if there is a time limit for activation? With ordinary PAYG sims if not activated in a certain time they reallocate the number and they are unusable.
    Will a data sim work OK in a phone? I can't see why not, I have a dual sim phone and you can set each sim for whatever services you want.
     
  14. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,941
    Likes Received:
    14,016
    Location:
    UK
    I don't think there is a time limit for activation. But I wouldn't want to push it too much. I would only buy a years supply at most.
    Using it on a phone is possible but ONLY for data. It won't allow you to make phone calls or send texts. Most dual sim phones only allow you to use one sim at a time.
    Check if yours allows both to be used at the same time for different services?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    Correct, same with data, 2 Months in any one year.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Manic

    Manic Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    992
    Location:
    Uk
    Also beware if you get cut off on the feel at home after 2 months and the go back to Europe with the sim in a phone, they will cancel your sim and number will be gone.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    We have already had our 2 months this year (well 6 actually.........sshhh) So it is possible we might get cut off in our first week in France...............so cancel the contract and move on to the 12g sims.
    I am assuming that after 2 months the Sim might be blocked and we can just pop another one in...............rather than them tracing the device and blocking that on the 3 network.
     
  18. Boringfrog

    Boringfrog Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    448
    I heard that before, surely you get a warning text or something 1st.
     
  19. Imbiber

    Imbiber Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Castleford, West Yorkshire
    Just thought I'd add a bit more info to the 20gb monthly contract Manic opened with, which may be of use to those who use their MiFi device abroad regularly.

    I too have just taken up the 12 month 20gb per month contract for £13 as we were forever running out of data on our previous 5gb plan. Whilst discussing the terms I asked about speeds and usage abroad in the feel at home countries and was informed that speed is never slowed; however, only 12gb of the 20 allowance can be used in any calendar month - choose whichever or how many feel at home countries you visit during the month.

    Incidentally, you can take out a 24 month contract at £13 pm for 20gb and get a MiFi device included in the deal if you haven't already got one.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  20. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    The trouble with contracts is that if you use the FAH for more than 2 months and get cut off you are still stuck with the contract.

    The rolling monthly costs more (£20 for 15g) but if we get cut off, we can cancel the contract and move over to the 12g sims.

    We used it for almost 6 months on our last trip, so in theory, we could be cut off when we start to use it in France next week.

    As more and more sites have free Wi Fi I think the 12g sims are the way to go for us.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
Loading...

Share This Page