240 - 110 - 240 Transformer in RV

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Keith and Debs, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. Keith and Debs

    Keith and Debs Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In Our RV
    Hi all

    Hopefully someone will be able to point me in the right direction here.

    Our 240 - 110 stepdown stepup transformer is now 8 years old and the laminations are loose and it is becoming increasingly noisy by the day, so much so that we call it the buzzy box now...

    Question is does anyone know where we can get a replacement from (without it costing an arm and a leg) before the neighbours start to complain about sleepless nights.

    thanks in advance

    Keith..
     
  2. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Yep.

    Just bought One on ebay.Construction site transformer.

    Nice bit of kit.

    Do a search.works really well and real quiet.


    Item number: 160173263281[​IMG]£39.99 + 10.98 postage.Very heavy but does the job.

    Bought 2 110v plugs with it so it connects up nicely.

    Worth a look anyway.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2007
  3. Keith and Debs

    Keith and Debs Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In Our RV
    Thanks for that but its not really what i am looking for... Construction site transformers are only step down and are not rated for continuous use i.e. 24/7

    keith
     
  4. Digger Driver

    Digger Driver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Yep
    You can't beat construction transformers

    Just a shame i am not working on a new build or i might be able to acquire one for you
     
  5. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi you can only use a construction site tranny in one direction ie. 240-110v you cannot reverse it and get 240 from 110.

    Olley

    PS beaten by 1 minute :BigGrin:
     
  6. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    No Prob. I read it that you were after a step-down transformer.:Doh:
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2007
  7. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,527
    Likes Received:
    5,584
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Click on banner at top of page Stateside Tuning or PM Linda (LC1864)oops slip of the finger LC1962:Rofl1:
    Geo
     
  8. Lindy-C

    Lindy-C Deleted User

    Better watch that slippery finger Geo......could land you in all sorts of bother! :Rofl1: :Rofl1:
     
  9. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,527
    Likes Received:
    5,584
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    :Wink:
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Errr sorry to disagree.. mine is a 3 kva construction tranny and it works as a step down and step up .. and it's been in constant use 24/7 for the past 8 months ..

    however, if you want the best buy one of these ..

    http://www.airlinktransformers.com/stepupstepdown-transformers.asp
     
  11. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Jim interesting, as I understand it construction trannys are centre tapped for the earth with two lives of 55volts each 180degrees out of phase, making them very safe in use. Again as I understand it your genny produces 110v with single live and neutral, so I would guess that you may get 240v but at only half the wattage.

    Have to say I am treading water here, and I am not a good swimmer.:Rofl1:

    Olley

    PS just found this: here: http://www.airlinktransformers.com/sitetransformers.asp

    Transformers are not designed to be run continually at their full capacity. They are designed to run tools intermittently and rest between uses.

    Intermittent use is defined as 5 minutes continuous use and 15 minutes of inactivity.

    If you have an application that requires a continuous load on the transformer then you need to calculate the load at approximately 60% of the transformers capabilities.

    Site lighting and electric heating coils are applications that draw continually and therefore…

    Airlink transformers have a continuous load rating included in the specifications for this purpose.

    Eg.

    Airlink Transformer’s ST3300/2 : 3.3kVA (3300W) portable tool transformer has a continuous VA (W) rating at 2000VA (2kVA)(2000W). Approximately 60% of the intermittent rating.

    Site lighting requiring 2000W will draw continuously from your transformer and you will require a transformer that is rated at or above 3300W (3.3kVA).
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  12. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Ian

    to be frank I've never given it much thought, only used the genny a few times and never really in anger, but now you're raised the question I'll investigate and get back with a more constructive reply .. and a life belt .. :Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  13. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Jim I added a PS from a site I found.

    Olley
     
  14. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Thanks Ian ..
    That would explain why mine is ok running 24/7 , it only has the fridge and the water heater to cope with and they aren't pulling a full load all the time .. Clearly it wouldn't be man enough if we ran both or even one air con unit..

    Must think about replacing.... :Sad:
     
  15. monacosteve

    monacosteve Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cornwall
    I have seen a motorhome were they had a construction transformer inside under the bed, they smelt something burning, when they lifted the transformer it had burnt the carpet, i dont know why but be carefull.

    steve
     
  16. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Mine was only bought to power the Atwood LPG/110V water heater.

    Well within spec and works well.

    Use the genny for anything else although mostly 240v.

    Wouldn't run an air-con off it though
     
  17. johnsandywhite

    johnsandywhite Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Doncaster/Spain
    :Cool: I am using a 3.5 KVA Transformer bought from Machine Mart intended for permanent on-site heating. We do not need 240 volts. That comes from Solar power and an inverter. If necessary? I can plug the charger into the 110volt side to charge the batteries when there isn't enough Solar power produced. :Wink:
     
  18. Lampie

    Lampie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Derby
    When I got my RV it came with a construction type transformer ie yellow box. Yes they will work 24 / 7 but are not designed to do so. Also when you first plug in on a site the in rush voltage to the transformer is so great for that split second that it is possible and in many cases over loads the trip. It is very annoying trying to explain to site wardens that " no there is not a fault with the van , it's just the transformer starting up ! "

    So I changed mine to one that is meant to be run 24/7 and that has a soft start system built in. Never had a trip go since well happy with it. Have a look http://www.griffin-american-motorhomes.co.uk/tripping.html

    Regards


    Lampie
     
  19. Forestboy

    Forestboy Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,941
    Likes Received:
    7,685
    Location:
    Forest of Dean
    So I changed mine to one that is meant to be run 24/7 and that has a soft start system built in. Never had a trip go since well happy with it. Have a look http://www.griffin-american-motorhom.../tripping.html


    Hi Lampie
    I was thinking about one of the soft start systems as I'm fed up of going to get the electric turned back on, it's always a CC site that it happens on and the wardens always in the middle of his tea. Get the usual "this only ever happens with American M/Hs" comment

    I saw an article by Griffin but have been waitng to hear a review about them I take it from your comments it works well.

    Was it expensive and how long did it take to fit, I presume it was fitted by Griffin.
    Thanks in advance :thumb:
     
  20. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,848
    Likes Received:
    76,162
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I have been told if this happens a way round it is to start the genny and then hook up. Never tried it yet, but would it work?
     
Loading...

Share This Page