220v A/C Unit - Pump Up Req'd?

Discussion in 'Heating and Air-Conditioning' started by Andrew and Shirley, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. Andrew and Shirley

    Andrew and Shirley Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ipswich Tractorboy Land
    On our Flair was have a 220v a/c unit which is superb especially with all this hot weather.

    But is it like a car a/c system and need a reg pump up or re-gas?

    Thanks
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,463
    Likes Received:
    16,913
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    not 100% sure but i believe they are a sealed unit and cant be re-gassed.

    could be wrong.
     
  3. Braunston

    Braunston Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    I believe some of the sealed units can be refilled, if its cost affective they will cut the pipework and insert a filling point, but it can be quiet costly.
     
  4. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,713
    Likes Received:
    2,107
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Unless its got a leak it should never need a regas, same as your fridge.

    olley
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    A/C units need running periodically whether needed or not, otherwise the seals will dry out, crack then leak.. so use it and it will last a long time..

    Our two a/c units were 13 years old and still going strong..
     
Loading...

Share This Page