2.8td Fiat Cant Have It Remapped ???????? (1 Viewer)

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
hi everyone ive been away from here for a while excuse this but ,caravanning.now bought a lovely fiat based autotrail tag axle on a 2000 plate.so off i went today all excited about a remap and flying home with a new lease of power.however they told me that although she was registered as a 2000 the chassis is a 1998 and the engine has a pump and no ecu.horror of horrors do any of you fine gentleman and ladies know if an ecu can be fitted to an earlier engine so i can get it remapped?
Many thanks.
The Friar

D

deleted-member02

Deleted User
It sounds like you have the 2.8Tid engine, as far as I'm aware a remap isn't possible.

I did have a 1998 2.5tdi (very similar) bottom line is they're older diesels and never going to behave like a modern common rail engine (but still loads better than non turbo predecessors)

I have read about people having their fuel pumps modified or changing the gear ratios to give a better final drive.

I'm not au fait with it all, so can't help much more I'm afraid !

andy63

Free Member
Jan 19, 2014
south shields
Funster No
MH
None
Exp
since 1990
Hi friar. Your pump is most probably a mechanically driven rotary distributor pump which is Purley mechanical with no prospect of been able to re map in that sense. .. A good diesel injection shop may be able to alter some pump settings to give a bit more power...
Some of these type of pumps did later have some electronic controls added and did have an ecu to control the pump but it was still basically mechanical with electronic control over timing and quantity of fuel injected..don't know whether anything can be done with them...If that's what you have.
Ta andy

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Ivory55

Free Member
May 23, 2012
North West Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
Since Feb 2012