1kw Inverter Installation .

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by scotjimland, Sep 9, 2016.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Have installed a new 1,000 watt PSW inverter .. it replaced a 200 watt Sterling that was too small to charge bike batteries. Will also be used to power 3 x Mac laptops , charge camera batteries etc.

    From Sunshine Solar .. with a remote control that also shows battery SOC and Load..

    It came supplied with with short ready made up cables.. which just reached the battery under the drivers seat .. routed via a short piece of mini-trunking, protected with a 100A fuse, also supplied by Sunshine Solar

    I installed 3 x 13A CBE sockets.. not a cheap option but they match the others already fitted.

    The cover for the back of the sockets is a food container..

    17Ah Bike battery on charge. .


    IMG_0352.jpg IMG_0353.jpg IMG_0354.jpg IMG_0355.jpg IMG_0356.jpg IMG_0357.jpg
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2016
    • Like Like x 9
    • Informative Informative x 2
  2. Neilfg

    Neilfg Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    Bucks
    Good post. (y)

    I have the 2000w version. Finally, getting around to testing it all out, have added a monitor so that i can keep track of the usage as well as the SoC on the remote.

    Have you grounded the inverter?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    not yet, doing that today..
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,841
    Likes Received:
    76,155
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Should inverters be earthed?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. JJ

    JJ Funster

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    14,548
    Likes Received:
    25,670
    Location:
    Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
    Good job done there...

    Earthed?

    Where?

    Won't the earth wire snap when you drive off?

    Just asking

    JJ :cool:
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,991
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    Pop it in a grow bag for mobility!
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Funny Funny x 3
  7. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    Location:
    Guisborough
    I earthed ours to the chassis because it said to do so in the instructions, despite what my wife would have you believe I do "sometimes" read instructions.

    Martin
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Yes. the instructions do say to earth.. but the correct term is 'bonding' .. it is not grounded to 'earth' but bonded to the chassis.

    since I last posted.. it is now bonded..
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Nice neat job ScotJim. I wish I had realised how easy it is to get CBE sockets when I fitted my inverter a few years ago. I have thought of changing the twin 13A socket that I used, but I think the hole might be too big for the CBE option so I guess I'll just leave it alone.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. StitchesnFluff

    StitchesnFluff Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    507
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Great job
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page