1995 Compass 460 Merit Any Good? (1 Viewer)

L

lr147

Deleted User
Hi,

I'm new to motorhoming and have seen a 1995 Compass 460 Merit which is right price right size. Does anyone have any experience of these? Are they any good? Is there anything I should look out for when viewing it?

Thanks,

Richard

Road Runner

Free Member
Jul 26, 2007
Europe
Funster No
MH
yes
Exp
Since before Motorhomefun
Firstly welcome to Fun:winky::thumb:

Compass are a good name.

The layout is down to you and what you feel is comfortable for yourselves (if your uneasy about it don't buy it) as getting it wrong can mean an early change which can be costly.

Check around the cupboards and corners for damp and musty smells if you do detect it you have a problem that can be costly.

Good luck with your search:winky:

PS:- check it out for power steering, if it hasn't make sure your comfortable with driving it without.

Last edited:

owdsmiffy

Free Member
Dec 13, 2008
Walcott Lincolnshire
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
6ish
Compass Drifter 460

Hi.Roadrunner. I've only just now (13/12/08) joined the site & seen your post, did you buy the Compass? I'ts identical to ours, how did you get on? Regards Dave.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

May 23, 2008
Near Durham City
Funster No
MH
Carthago
Exp
Since 1984
Check for damp

Congrats on your move to a Compass. Overall they were a good van but give it a good going over with a dampmeter mainly in the luton and at the rear. I worked for Compass during the build years and they were a little prone to the odd leak.
Wiljoy

roverman1

Free Member
Jun 19, 2008
leeds west yorks
Funster No
MH
coach built
Exp
hi . we changed to a compass from an elldis and we love it its a joy to drive its warm and cosy at night the heating system is great although its uder powered with a 1.9 tubo diesel not to much of a prob to us .

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005