12volt lighting

Discussion in 'Auto-Trail' started by Vlad The Impaler, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Rutland
    Looking to change all interior bulbs on my apache to 12v.Anyone done this and if so what kind of bulbs did you use and where from.Managed to get to bulbs in little swivel spots but struggling getting into strip lights any clues?



    Steve.
     
  2. f6c

    f6c Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    gloucestershire
    auto-trail 12v

    The spot lights are the easy ones, its the others that are a bit of a bugger:Wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Rutland
  4. f6c

    f6c Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    gloucestershire
    One finger typing takes a long time:Wink:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. MHVirgins

    MHVirgins

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,890
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Location:
    South of Scotland
    We've not had to change ours yet, but what I have noticed is that there's a fair bit of heat comes through to the cupboards above them.......... I left a Galaxy in one and it got quite soft before I noticed it:Doh:

    It didn't stop me eating it though:RollEyes:
    Margaret
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,222
    Likes Received:
    9,602
    Location:
    Dorset
    most of the lights are already 12v but many people choose to use led bulbs. the strip lights can be sourced to be a direct replacement or you can rewire them using led strips

    all easily sourced from ebay or more expensive from aten lighting etc
     
  7. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,222
    Likes Received:
    9,602
    Location:
    Dorset
  8. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    Hi Steve,
    pop the outer covers off then measure and buy from ebay, put back in the same as they came out just dont force the things as the space is tight.
    I had to replace about 5 in mine when i bought it plus two spots !
     
  9. pvw10

    pvw10 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Gloucester
    All the strip lights should be 12v already ?
     
  10. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Rutland
    f6c 1 fingered typing does take a long time,however it would possibly be Quicker if it wasn't stuck somewhere else !!!!!!!!:Eeek::Eeek::Eeek:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Vlad The Impaler

    Vlad The Impaler Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2,177
    Location:
    Rutland
    Maybee 1 deserve 1 finger:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
    Just read back and forgot to say want to swap 12v for led
    Well spotted Big one you were on the right scent.:thumb:
     
  12. jb0371

    jb0371 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Norfolk
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,466
    Likes Received:
    16,914
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    if your strip lights have a cover/defuser then these are ideal

    [​IMG]


    from LEDBULBS4U ....page 1 half way down.

    i fitted these in my RV to replace the 12v tubes...simply removed the tubes and cut off the feed wires then connected them to the new strips.

    the old lights were twin tube and 2.2amps each light...there are 9 of 'em, nearly 20amps in total :Eeek:

    now i run them all for a COUPLE of amps (only one strip in each lamp at the moment)
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  14. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,261
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Location:
    West Norfolk
    Ebay is cheapest for LEDs. The ones marketed at MHs by some suppliers carry a MH-sized price premium!:Angry:

    We bought 10 G4 warm white LEDs for £14 incl postage! They are now 2yrs old and still work!:thumb:
     

Share This Page