12v Fridge Problem

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Brimal, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. Brimal

    Brimal Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Norwich, Norfolk
    Hi
    I have posted this on 2 other groups so sorry if you've seen it but I know there's
    quite a few knowledgeable guys out there somewhere.

    I have a 2004 Adria 650 (from new) which has a Dometic RM701 Fridge/Freezer.
    The problem is the 15 amp fuse from the alternator to fridge on 12v usage keeps blowing. The connection is under the passenger seat.
    Now I've changed the relay with no joy.
    The Adria wiring diagram states a 15 amp fuse.
    The Dometic handbook however states:
    "Connect the refrigerator to the vehicle battery or alternator by a direct cable to the terminal bloc. To avoid a voltage drop etc......
    ensure satisfactory operation the positive lead must be fitted with a fuse rated at max 20A"
    The relay is 30 amp, so really a 20 amp fuse should be ok there but what other 'problems' could I be causing by upping to a 20
    when it really should be a 15 amp one.
    Anyone got any suggestions/ideas on this one please.

    Brian
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi brian,

    has the fridge been working normally, up 'til now, with the 15a fuse or has it been an ongoing longterm problem?

    if its been ok in the past then it sounds like you've developed a fault.

    if you can, disconnect the wire at the fridge, or simply turn it off, and see if it blows. if it does then its a wiring fault, if not its a fridge fault.

    if its always done it then id stick a 20a fuse in and see if that blows.

    dometic know their own product better than the converters but they have no control over what gauge wire is used on the van.

    use good quality fuses as the cheap ones arent up to the job anyway.
     
  3. Brimal

    Brimal Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Norwich, Norfolk
    I think its an old problem as I originally noticed it quite a while ago. Changed the fuse
    and that was it.
    How do u know your fridge is working on 12v while mobile, reckon u just take it for
    granted a lot of the time, so maybe the fuse would blow soon after I changed it
    and hit the road on 12v as didnt seem to check straight away.
    When I did realise I just took the fuse out and said would sort it when we got home.
    (Been in Spain and Portugal all winter). Hence the query now.
    So it seems I'll get some decent fuses, try the 15 again then if no joy up it to
    the 20 which Dometic suggest, but I'll keep an eye on it tho now.

    Tks
    Brian
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,484
    Likes Received:
    16,967
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    cant remember what make ours is but it has 3 illuminated switches.....gas, 12v and mains.
    the 12v switch only lights when the engines running, so you know its working.
     
Loading...

Share This Page