12v Freeview Box

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by injebreck99, Jun 1, 2014.

  1. injebreck99

    injebreck99 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Location:
    norfolk
    Anyone have any experience of 12volt Freeview boxes for e M/h, we don't want to go into sat dishes etc, only occasionally watch TV when away, but would like more choice when we do.
    We are at a site in John O Groats at the moment, lovely sunshine, but windy, to be expected here I suppose. Hoping to watch more TT racing on ITV4 tonight :thumb:
     
  2. ukbill

    ukbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,897
    Likes Received:
    4,862
    Location:
    benidorm
    not sure of freeveiw boxes but is your tv not already freeveiw
     
  3. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,859
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Assuming you are using a fairly recent television and not simply a monitor, you do not need a freeview box. The TV should contain the digital tuner which will operate in the same way as a TV in the home. Simply plug in a standard digital aerial and retune the TV. You will have to retune the TV at each pitch location (assuming that you move from one transmitter's coverage to another between stops).
     
  4. vwalan

    vwalan Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    7,594
    Likes Received:
    3,853
    Location:
    roche cornwall
    most just buy a diggi tv with it built in .
    89 quid in asda . make your own lead up.
    i found lots of british speaking channels and programs on mine when in spain last winter .
    just go for english as a default language . if its had english going out with the program at all then you might get it . certainly had at least 5 channels most of the time .
    but in uk great .
    i use one of these ariels http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/271451963012?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:
    works great . again needs a 12 v feed .but works inside or outside.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gollom

    Gollom Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Preston, Lancs
    I have a 240v TV - can I buy an adaptor to run it on 12v if needed? Or even from van cigar lighter? Can see adaptors that will allow 12v to run on 240v but not the other way round
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2014
  6. Stewart J

    Stewart J Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    Location:
    SW Northumberland
    I purchased a dual voltage [12vdc & 220vac] refurbished Phillips (rebranded Pace) on fleabay for £18 last year works a treat and picks up channels in poor reception areas the built in Autotrail cannot find. :thumb:
     
  7. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    5,291
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    It is an inverter that you need to do that there are loads on Ebay and not expensive but check the usage of you TV in watts and do not get one larger than needed and do not go for the cheap nasty one.

    If you are big tele users it may pay to buy a 12 volt tele they are very reasonable now
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2014
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Goldenoldies
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    322
  2. emilu
    Replies:
    20
    Views:
    752
  3. Goldenoldies
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    366
  4. landyman
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    866
  5. lorger
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    876

Share This Page