12v electrical information if posible

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Heyupluv, Apr 15, 2011.

  1. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,
    I want to fit a 12v socket in the motorhome

    12v cigarette type socket like this one on ebay
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MOTORCYCLE-WA...ycle_Parts&hash=item5ad6a114d0#ht_1451wt_1009
    if it is adequate for the job..

    with a in line fuse if possibly like this one, if it is adequate for the job

    NEW 12V 3.5/12 Gauge Waterproof in Line Fuse Holder 30A
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-12V-3-5-1..._Cabling_ET&hash=item20b835053a#ht_4962wt_775

    Direct to the leisure battery...

    What size cable is required.....

    the two main items that will be running of it will be a 12v caravan type hair dryer (no rating label on it ) like this one on ebay

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/HEAVY-DUTY-CA...ssories_ET&hash=item2eb1d4e86f#ht_1664wt_1199

    and a Black & Decker Auto Dust buster vac (on the rating label 12v 6.3amps )

    what size cable do I require and what fuse size.. and are the items above ok... or do you have any better ideas.

    Thank you Mel:thumb:
     
  2. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    a lot depends on how far from the batteries the socket will be ?


    12v hair drier = waste of time and money

    better off with a smallish inverter and run a 230v drier from that.
     
  3. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,


    John about 24"

    I agree....we or should I say her in doors has both....we have a inverter.. but never used it for the hair dryer..always been on mains hook up or genny for the 240v
    I gree the 12v a waste of time!!
     
  4. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    going by my chart.....

    minimum 8 gauge wire and a 20 amp fuse.

    there will be around 5% volt drop over that length but it shouldnt really be noticable as the battery voltage will be more thann 12 volts anyway.

    the drier in your link is around 12.5amps.
     
  5. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,
    Thank you John....:thumb:

    Mel
     
  6. mick noe

    mick noe Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    near Boston Lincolnshire
    socket in the advert is only rated at 10amp and I think that is about standard for that type of outlet 2.5 mm cable should be ok for short run of cable say 2/3 metres with 10 amp in line fuse I've done similar socket on motorclycles and worked ok with tyre pumps..phone chargers etc.
     
  7. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,772
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Stick her head out of the window and drive around the block, in fact if you open all the windows and whack the blower on you should be able to de-dust the van at the same time!!:thumb:
     
  8. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    15a cable 7.5a fuse will be plenty! This gives the cable an easy life, and if you start putting heavier loads, you can up the fuse to 10a without worrying too much!

    Go onto 12voltshop and they stock nice 12v power supply sockets on there for about £5 I think (probably less - never look at my receipts...missus does the books! lol!)

    Scratch that - you are running some heavy power stuff! (Sorry, didn't read properly!) Go with the 20a!
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    sorry mel, never checked your socket link :Doh:

    10 amp probably wont be heavy enough for the hair drier but this one will be 15A SOCKET same thing only higher rated.:thumb:

    reduce the inline fuse to 15amp and you could use 10 gauge wire instead of 8 gauge and still run up to 28ft from the batteries.

    10 gauge equates to 2.5mmsq
     
  10. wivvy's dad

    wivvy's dad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    1,807
    Location:
    48.066895,12.862673
  11. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,

    Thank you John...took all onboard....when you say 2.5 mmsq (10 gauge)...is that the same has normal house ring main wire (as in twin and earth but removed from the outer plastic sheath):thumb:...if yes is the multi strands better than the single..more flexy:Eeek:

    Mel:thumb:
     
  12. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,885
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    yes, same size but use stranded.

    single strand cable is susceptible to vibration and will eventually break where it fits in the socket or at the battery terminal.

    the more strands, the less chance of a break and much more pliable.
     
  13. Heyupluv

    Heyupluv Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    France,
    I would just like thank you all below...
    info on board...all parts ordered...just waiting for delivery to France from the Uk

    John....pappajohn:thumb:
    wivvy's dad.:thumb:
    mick noe.:thumb:
    rainbow chasers:thumb:


    Gooney...............thank you for some excellent tips:Wink::thumb::Rofl1::Rofl1:

    Mel
     
Loading...

Share This Page